It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

 

3

Welcome to It’s Monday!  What Are You Reading!  This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment telling me how many you visited.  **You do not have to have a blog to participate! You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.

 

Last weeks winner: Lori from Escape With Dollycas (Woo hoo!!!)

Congratulations!  Please choose a book or bookish item from the Reading Cafe!

Looking back over this past week I am thrilled to see I actually posted something.  Here is what happened here this past week:

Forgotten Road by Randall Arthur (WOW!)

 

One Second After by William Forstchen   (another WOW!)

 

Books To Movies… “Heck Yeah!  or Hell’s No!!!” What do you think?

 

It has been a busy BUSY week but here it is Sunday evening (here) and I have a nice quiet week ahead.  No commitments on any evenings this week until Friday when we have a Christmas party to go to.  I can not even tell you how happy that makes me.  When I get so overly busy I just DRAIN all my energy and I have felt drained. 

Books of course, are on the agenda… and I am so excited about getting into BOOKS!

 

 

1a

Hannah Smith, the latest in several generations of strong, no-nonsense Florida women who live life on their own terms. Hannah, who has inherited a PI agency from her uncle, feels her ancestors’ rugged individualism in her bones but has been unable to let it rise to the surface—until she agrees to help a fishing client by searching for his missing niece. The case gives her the chance she needs to find her game, tracking and ultimately confronting a sociopath who specializes in seducing rich, timid women and divesting them of their fortunes before tossing them aside, dead or barely living. Hannah, a perplexing mix of timidity and strength, must confront multiple personal demons in the course of the tale, and she does so with grace and savvy. With its Gulf Coast setting and watery landscape, this is less a new series for White than it is the introduction of a new character to Doc Ford’s world, but that’s all good for the author’s fans, who will welcome another seaworthy star, whether she works solo or in tandem with Ford.

1a3a

When Vianne Rocher receives a letter from beyond the grave, she has no choice but to follow the wind that blows her back to Lansquenet, the beautiful French village in which eight years ago she opened a chocolate shop and first learned the meaning of home.

But returning to one’s past can be a dangerous pursuit. Vianne, with her daughters, Anouk and Rosette, finds Lansquenet changed in unexpected ways: women veiled in black, the scent of spices and peppermint tea – and there, on the bank of the river Tannes, facing the church, a minaret. Most surprising of all, her old nemesis, Father Francis Reynaud, desperately needs her help.

Can Vianne work her magic once again?

 

 

 

1a4a

Padlocked doors. Strange light fixtures. Mutant cockroaches.

There are some odd things about Nate’s new apartment. Of course, he has other things on his mind. He hates his job. He has no money in the bank. No girlfriend. No plans for the future. So while his new home isn’t perfect, it’s livable. The rent is low, the property managers are friendly, and the odd little mysteries don’t nag at him too much. At least, not until he meets Mandy, his neighbor across the hall, and notices something unusual about her apartment. And Xela’s apartment. And Tim’s. And Veek’s. Because every room in this old Los Angeles brownstone has a mystery or two. Mysteries that stretch back over a hundred years. Some of them are in plain sight. Some are behind locked doors. And all together these mysteries could mean the end of Nate and his friends. Or the end of everything….

 

 

I am excited to get started on these stories.  SO what are you reading this week between the hustle and bustle of the Holidays?  I look forward to seeing what you are reading and what I will be adding to my reading in the upcoming weeks. 😀

Please add your What Are You Reading post below where it says “click here”.  I think I actually have some to visit this week and I an sooooo excited!

 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

 

For those of you who review mainly Middle Grade (MG) and/or Young Adult (YA) reads, please also add your link to this meme as well:

3a

56 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Enjoy your quiet week and enjoy your audiobooks. This is a busy week for me as I prepare for my sister’s visit and some activities for the kids for when they will be off school.

  2. Have a good week, Sheila. I hope you’ll enjoy the Joanne Harris book. I’ve got a copy of it but don’t seem to get round to reading it. A pity, because I loved the previous two books.

  3. I picked up the new Joanne Harris book as well but heaven only knows when I’ll get around to reading it. Have a wonderful week!

  4. Oh, I am soooo jealous of your quiet week!! Mine is crazy – had to take my son to a doctor 90 minutes away today, the Social Security disability hearing I have been waiting 3 years for is on Wednesday, and lots of family members arriving on Friday for 3-5 days! And I am already exhausted. This is usually our quiet time between family visits, but this year, we are the ones hosting everyone.

    Anyway, your book choices for the week look great – I’ve been wanting to read Peaches for Father Francis, too.

    Hope you enjoy your down time and your books this week!

    Sue

  5. I loved the movie Chocolat and need to give the book a read and Peaches for a father Francis as well. I have linked up for the first time as I am discovering my passion for reading lately. Found you through Michelle at That’s what she read. Looking forward to joining in on the fun and seeing what you and others are reading. I fear I will have a dangerously long to-read list as a result, but there are worse things. 🙂

  6. I had to come back and let you know that I got to visit 23 sites this week! I was going to go for 30 but that doesn’t look like it will happen. But I am happy with 23.
    Thanks!

Hmmmm... what do you think?