The Language Of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh (Bookies Review)

Victoria was one of those kids who fell through the cracks of the foster care system.  Placed time and again in homes that did not fit for her, or were flat-out… abusive.  The Foster Care program felt it was Victoria, she was labeled as difficult and uncooperative… and so Victoria continued moving home to home until at 18 years of age she outgrew the foster care age -

and then was on her own.

One home however, haunts her dreams in a painful loss sort of way and if filled with the “what if’s” of life.  When Victoria was placed with Elizabeth a woman who grew up surrounded by flowers and their meanings , Victoria soon learned the secret language as well…. aster meaning patience, honeysuckle for devotion, plum meaning keep your promises….

But a poor decision leads to an unthinkable tragedy and Victoria once again shuts down, holding within her secrets and not trusting anyone with her heart.  She finds herself in a world of flowers and in almost an unreal way she flourishes, knowing exactly what those looking for the right bouquet want and need… and while this keeps her busy and is fulfilling…

she still longs for what she came so close to having if not for her secret, and Victoria is about to learn that your past has a way of finding you… and that isn’t always a bad thing…

 

My book club the Bookies chose this book for our November read.  On synopsis alone, I wasn’t sure about this one… I had some sort of 70′s flower child image in my head, however the girl who recommended this one is usually spot on with her book suggestions and she had already read it and said it was wonderful. 

The Language Of Flowers, as it turns out is wonderful and an incredible discussion book for reading groups.  The beauty we found within the pages of Vanessa Diffenbaugh’s story line here was well worth discussing.  While Victoria is not always likeable, that makes the story even deeper.  She is flawed.  She will annoy the crap out of you (and did).  AND her decisions do not always fall back on her child hood and the “oh look what she has been through though!”  My response to that is, “yeah well, we have all been through stuff.”

However….

Victoria is three-dimensional, while you can not put her on a pedestal, you also can not fully dismiss her.  She makes you want to know more about the way she thinks and the underlining flow of flowers and their language is not only fun but interesting.  I highly recommend this read not only for flower lovers but also for discussion groups as there is so many ways to discuss this book further.

 

BOOKIES THOUGHTS

The Bookies over all rated this one a steady 4 out of 5.  While we differed somewhat on how we felt about Victoria, we still enjoyed the read and the characters.  The flower discussion was good and I had printed out lists for everyone of Victoria’s Dictionary Of Flower, found on-line and created by the author.

Fresh flowers of course adorned our get together as well as flower book marks.  Our food for the review looked like this:

 

The foods served were some mentioned in the book.  I went with Zucchini Linguini because Zucchini starts out as a flower. ;)

The Language of Flowers makes for a wonderful discussion book for book clubs. 

Also submitted to Beth Fish Reads, Weekend Cooking Meme.

About Sheila (Book Journey)

Bookaholic * Audio Book Fan *Bike Rider *Rollerblader *Adventure Seeker *Want To Be Runner*Coffee lover *Fitness Fan * Movie junkie

Posted on November 25, 2012, in Book Review, Bookies Review, weekend cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. My book club loved this book too. We had a great discussion because one of our members works in the foster care system.

  2. I really enjoyed that book, glad you did too! Oh my word, I want to join your book club…great lookin’ eats! ;)

  3. I read this one last year and loved it. My connection to it had to do with the flaws in the foster care system, in which I worked for over three decades. Definitely a system that needs work.

  4. I LOVED this book. Your book club sure went all out. AWESOME. THANKS for sharing.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog

  5. Another great bookie choice and great looking food too!! I loved this book!

  6. I have this book on my Kindle but have yet to read it; your review has intrigued me. I love the photos of your food at the book club discussion.

  7. I enjoyed this book too. Awesome spread at your book club!

  8. I am so jealous of your book club!!! I’m trying to get my mom to start one with me, but to no avail so far. :)

    Shannon
    http://www.irunreadteach.wordpress.com

  9. I haven’t read the book, but I want to be in *your* book club. Maybe I need to fly up just for one of your meals. LOL.

  10. I remember thinking after I read this book that it would make a great book club selection. I’m glad you enjoyed it Sheila!

  11. I’ve read some good reviews about this one. Your book club get-togethers look like they are so much fun!

  12. Hi there, the December edition of Books You Loved has just gone live today. Here is the link Books You Loved December Edition Please do pop by and link in a post about a book you loved. Maybe this one? Cheers

Hmmmm... what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,530 other followers