Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (A Bookies Review)

Mr. and Mrs. Bennett have a houseful.  Five children, all girls… well, women really, living in a home in Georgia England during the Regency period. 

Of the five, Jane is the oldest and the beautiful one, Elizabeth is the fast tongued smart one, Mary is bookish, Kitty is immature and Lydia… oh Lydia is the wild one.

Mr. Bennett is a pretty well put together man especially considering how over the top his wife, Mrs. Bennett can be.  Set firmly on doing all she can to help her daughters marry and marry well, Mrs. Bennett will stop short of nothing… even to the length of sending Jane by horse to visit Mr. Darcy during a rain storm in hopes that she would become ill and have to stay at his home until she is better. 

Her plan… works to that extent… but not all is she had hoped.  ;)

Elizabeth is the one who comes to Jane’s rescue, appalled at her own mothers behavior she nurses Jane back to health,avoiding as much as she can the man who annoys her so much, Mr. Darcy himself. 

What follows is a story that is described as a comedy of sorts, of sisters and men in their lives, and really… Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy.

Maybe... I should watch the movie...

This is my first time reading Pride and Prejudice.  My book club started a tradition many years ago that every October we would read a classic.  Back then, I was not thrilled by the idea, now… I love it.  This gives us all a chance to experience one of the greats… we do not always like them, but they have always been pretty fun to review.

My personal thoughts on the read were I really enjoyed it.  While some in the group struggled with the language, I enjoyed figuring it out as I went.  The words are different than we use them, and it was fun to see words used differently in sentences and while they were a mouthful to read.. they made sense. 

As much as the Bookies loved Mr. Darcy, I was odd man out on this one.  I realized he changes throughout the book… but his snottiness (hoo yeah I said it!)in the beginning especially towards Elizabeth rubbed me wrong and I still wasn’t over it at the close of the read.  I know this is supposed to be one of the great love stories… and I agree it was a good read, I just didn’t really like Darcy.  Yes I know I am in the minority… but remember I do not read romance reads. :D

I did however really enjoy the book and am so happy to now be able to say I have read Pride and Prejudice!  The Bookies had a good discussion over the book, the era, The Bennett’s, fun with the language, and overall it rated a 3.5 rating out of 5. 

We did dress up as we like to do for our Classic read – hats were requested, but you could go further with the look if you wanted to. 

I wanted to.  :D

Here are a few pics of our evening:

The Bookies in attendance

A little candid pencil shot while we were setting up for the pictures

Kaydi wore her grandmothers wedding dress!

The 2011 WHERE Are You Reading Map has been updated to include Pride and Prejudice

I purchased my copy of Pride and Prejudice at Barnes and Noble

About Sheila (Book Journey)

Bookaholic * Audio Book Fan *Bike Rider *Rollerblader *Adventure Seeker *Want To Be Runner*Coffee lover *Fitness Fan * Movie junkie

Posted on October 12, 2011, in Being Bookie, Book Review, Bookies Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 33 Comments.

  1. Oh, I do love how your bookies really jazz things up to match the era, food, etc. Love that wedding dress!

    I read Pride and Prejudice so long ago that I’ve forgotten most of it. I could watch the movie and it would come back to me.

    I don’t know if I’ll reread it…that thought has crossed my mind, since there seems to be a lot of buzz about these books nowadays.

    But I generally enjoy more contemporary books these days. Except I did reread Little Women last year and enjoyed it.

  2. The wedding dress is lovely on Kaydi. I was guessing you wouldn’t like P&P but I’m glad I was wrong. I think once you get the hang of the language and flowery speech, the stories are basically interesting. I have a little problem judging the women by today’s standards, but when I lecture myself that things were just different then, I’m okay. I’m in the middle of Jane Eyre now. Though I wouldn’t say I love it, I’m enjoying the read.

  3. Your group looks like so much fun! Love the hats and wedding dress. As to P&P, I love Jane Austen and her books. However, P&P may be my least favorite or it is certainly at the bottom. I like SENSE & SENSIBILITY and PERSUASION much better. One thing I do like about Austen’s work though, the wittiness. If you can get past the language and really immerse yourself, she had such a way with a comic situation and she was a little sarcastic. Or she would be today. Good for you to finish it, Sheila!

  4. I read it for the first time a few years ago and was surprised at how much I enjoyed it, as I’d attempted a few other Austin’s and hadn’t been caught up in them. I try to read all “spooky” during October, and so yesterday I just started Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. So far it amuses me.

  5. Mr Darcy was a character I had a hard time with initially too. I kind of got over it, but man, he definitely could be a jerk at times!

  6. I want to join your book club!! You all have so much fun and are very committed..that’s what I really like!! As for me, I love Mr. Darcy…absolutely love him. I plan on reading all of Austen’s works next year and I can’t wait!

  7. Definitely a fun book club! And, I’ve always had a crush on Mr. Darcy.

  8. So glad you ended up enjoying the book in the end!

  9. The only version I’ve ever read of this is Pride & Prejudice & Zombie. Maybe one day I’ll read the real deal, I’m just not in a huge hurry to do so. I’m glad you liked it though.

  10. What an awesome book club! I love P&P, and while I do love me some Darcy, I can see why some people don’t like him. Have you read Persuasion? I love Captain Wentworth even more than Mr. Darcy. ;)

  11. I read Pride and Prejudice this year and loved it. You all have the coolest book club. I love the dress up element. Kaydi’s dress is so awesome!

    Hope you had fun on your unplugged cabin retreat this weekend. :)

  12. I read Pride & Prejudice before I started blogging and it remains the only book I have read by Austen. This week I actually watched the mini-series version of the book and it was really quite good! If you get a chance to watch it, you should!

  13. I’m so glad you included photos! That wedding dress is so beautiful and whimsical at the same time.

  14. I think if you watch the movies you might appreciate Darcy more. Especially the BBC miniseries with Colin Firth.

  15. I love the spirit of your book group – dressing up in old-timey clothes for Jane Austen – awesome! Sounds like lots of fun.

    I have never read a Jane Austen book, though I did see the movie version of Pride & Prejudice! I really have to rectify that.

    Thanks for the review –

    Sue

  1. Pingback: Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen « Off The Wall

Hmmmm... what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,529 other followers