Morning Meanderings… POTTERMORE!!! and Thoughts on Banned Books

Good morning!

How is everyone?  I am doing rather well here, had a great day yesterday, mowed the lawn for what I think is probably the final time for the year and received my Pottermore link to get in.

Yup – that’s right… last night I finally experienced a little bit of Pottermore which has been interesting and fun… I stayed up too late exploring within in and cant wait to get to the sorting hat… that’s all I am saying on that today.  :razz:

It is Banned Books Week. 

I wanted to chat my thoughts on banned books this morning and then link you to the clue for the day as well as a few other great posts on banned books.

Go with me on this… imagine if your favorite book in the world, the one you recommend to everyone to read…

was suddenly being challenged or banned and threatened to be taken out of the schools, stores, library, etc….

what if someone, somewhere, somehow, thought there was a word in the book that was too harsh, too real, too strong, or a character who did not fit in as their idea of what a good clean appropriate character should be…. what if …

in that favorite book of yours an animal talked and some group of people decided that animals should not talk in books, it was confusing and blasphemous and just can not be, what if in an older classic style read a word is used that is not accepted in todays culture and therefore surely we must pretend the word never did… we must… we must cover up our history….

I am saying this today because before last year I thought a banned book must be something disgusting, filthy, unfit for reading…  and then on closer observations, I seen they were books I loved like all the Harry Potter Books, many (MANY) of the classics… books we grew up on as kids…

and that is why I am so passionate about banned books.  Take a look at the list of top 100 books and I think you may be surprised. 

And – it is not just “an older” book thing, as Sheree will show you today from The Eclectic Reader….

Your banned book review today with your clue #5 is:

Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler, pop over to Sheree’s and see her beautiful blog – and a great message about the book and the clue for today.

Missed a clue?  Need to know what I am talking about?  I have a prize package going on right now to celebrate banned books week.  Check it out here

And please see these other banned book related posts from book bloggers around the world.  A comment on these posts (as well as the ones I have posted each morning since this past Saturday will get you a bonus entry into the giveaway)

Katie at Curse of The Bibliophile shares her Thoughts On Banned Books

Pammy Pam at an Unconventional Library reviews The Diary Of Anne Frank

Danielle at Mercurial Musings reviews Of Mice And Men

Angie at By Book Or By Crook reviews LUSH by Natasha Friend

Gina at Books Dragon’s Lair shares:  Unsuitable For Age Group – The Perks Of Being A Wallflower

Christa at Christa’s Hooked On Books shares her thoughts on banned books such as The Lord Of The Rings

Joy from Joystory reviews The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison

I love that so many of us have jumped on the banned wagon, and there is so much more than this out there on the web this week.  Take some time and check out these wonderful posts and learn a little more about censorship.

Have a lovely day – it is gorgeous here in Minnesota.  I may go rollerblading or biking this afternoon.  But honestly… will probably be dabbling in Pottermore this morning.  ;)

created by:  Luciano Sormani

created by: Luciano Sormani (click picture for website)

 

About Sheila (Book Journey)

Bookaholic * Audio Book Fan *Bike Rider *Rollerblader *Adventure Seeker *Want To Be Runner*Coffee lover *Fitness Fan * Movie junkie

Posted on September 27, 2011, in Banned Book Week, Meanderings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Thanks for your passionate interest in this very important bookish topic. Alas, many folks do think banned books must deserve it…and don’t look any further.

    I’m so glad we have this event to help us “preach” the word.

    Now I’m off to check those links!

  2. I agree with what Laurelrainsnow said about people not looking further. I have family members who refuse to read Harry Potter because their church says it encourages satanism, yet they love the Lord of the Rings series. I’ve been trying to convince them for years that if they like LotR they’ll probably love HP and that neither one is a gateway to satanism. I think I’ve made a little progress, but they’re still refusing because of the church’s influence. It’s just ridiculous because I know many Christians who love HP. :)

    • LOL – I must have been commenting on your post today at the same time you were here Alyce. :D

      I know people that will not touch Harry Potter for the same reasons and I am saddened that they are missing out on a wonderful story – and yes, very similar to Lord Of The Rings.

      I am a Christian and love and promote these books whenever I can.

  3. I cannot imagine banning The Diary of Anne Frank. That book probably moved me more than any other when I was a kid.

  4. I just read and reviewed a book about the end of the Weimar Republic in Germany and the rise and takeover of Hitler’s Nazy Party, The Sleepwalkers by Paul Grossman. One of the first things the Nazi’s did was ban and then burn books. When U.S. citizens ignore our First Amendment rights and force schools and local governments to ban books, Nazi Germany is the first thought in my mind.

  5. I am sorry, but what idiots for wanting Anne Frank banned because it is a “downer”, it was real life during a dark, dark period of history, banning it will not make history disappear.

  6. I understand your passion, if we can play a small part in encouraging people to look a little further, then make their own ‘informed’ decision then I’m happy. Thanks so much for hosting Sheila.
    It might sound harsh but it really is criminal to ban books like The Diary of Anne Frank, it’s part of our history, it can’t be just erased!!

  7. I can’t wait to use pottermore! Everyone says it’s amazing!
    I’ll have to wait till october something for the regular sign-ups though =/

  8. Sure!
    How does thing connecting thing happens? You become friends, like on facebook?

Hmmmm... what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,527 other followers