It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday!  What Are You Reading is where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week…. and anything in between!  D  This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment telling me how many you visited.  **You do not have to have a blog to participate! You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.

Last weeks winner:

Angelica at My Sassy Angel


WOO HOO!!!!  Please choose an item out of the Reading Cafe Grab Shelves  and email me your choice with your mailing address as well!   journeythroughbooks@gmail.com

In case you wonder why I offer a book giveaway for those who visit others who do this meme, it is because I LOVE community.  Book Blogging is all about sharing our love for books with one another.  By visiting some of the other participants – you never know where you may find that next awesome read – or a blog that becomes one that you want to read more often.  :D

 

I had a lovely and busy week and weekend.  This past week between work and a couple of evening meetings my reading time was small, I managed to finish two of the audio books I was listening to, but not nearly the amount of reading time I had hoped.  here is what I did accomplish:


Something Blue by Emily Giffin (audio book review that involves thoughts about choking the main character)


Between by Jessica Warman – book review


BBAW (Book Blogger Appreciation Week) is coming!!!!  I posted the categories and how to get registered)

 

One Tuesday Morning by Karen Kingsbury (audio review with a WOW factor)


The Library Book sale and my haul of books 😛


Curse Of The Blue Tattoo by L A Meyer (audio review – the Bloody Jack series)

 

I was on a 150 mile bike ride this weekend that is possibly my favorite ride every year and for a great cause

I got into POTTERMORE!!!!  (yes this a layer of geakiness that you may not even have realized I have 😛

 

 

I came home late afternoon on Sunday from a 150 mile bike ride.  After being slightly idol the past 6 weeks from the arm cast the bike ride was harder than I had imagined.  It rained hard most of the ride on Saturday and then as we were pulling into camp, it cleared and was nice out for the afternoon, overnight, and the 75 miles back on Sunday.  As far as what my plan is for this week…. I have two longer audios going now that I do not think I will finish this week, so only slight planning on that end:

 

 

Hilly is the town’s white Queen Bee with an antebellum attitude towards race. She hopes to lead her minions into the latter part of the century with the “enlightened” view of making sure every home in Jackson, Mississippi, has a separate toilet for the help. Her crusade is, she says, based on clear hygienic criteria, which will save both blacks and whites from heinous diseases.

Despite the fact that the maids prepare the food, care for the children, and clean every part of every home, privy to every secret, many of the white women look at their black maids as an alien race. There are more enlightened views, especially those of Skeeter, a white, single woman with a college degree, who aspires to more than earning her MRS. Skeeter begins collecting the maids’ stories. And the maids themselves find the issue of race humiliating, infuriating, life-controlling. Race sows bitter seeds in the dignity of women who feel they have no choices except to follow their mamas into the white women’s kitchens and laundries. Aibilene says, “I just want things to be better for the kids.” Their hopes lie in education and improvement, change someday for their children.

There is real danger for the maids sharing their stories as well as danger for Skeeter herself. The death of Medgar Evers touches the women deeply, making them question their work and a decision to forge ahead, hoping their book can be published anonymously and yet not recognized by the very white women they know to the last deviled egg and crack in a dining room table.

 

I read this book a couple years back and LOVED it! Now as the movie is about to release this week (August 10th) I thought I would try the audio that I have heard raving about and rightfully so – it is incredible.  (I will not even get started on the fact that it looks like my local theater as well as any theaters within an hour of me will have The Help movie showing.)

 

 

 

 

The incredible events surrounding the 1893 Chicago World’s Fair with such drama that readers may find themselves checking the book’s categorization to be sure that The Devil in the White City is not, in fact, a highly imaginative novel. Larson tells the stories of two men: Daniel H. Burnham, the architect responsible for the fair’s construction, and H.H. Holmes, a serial killer masquerading as a charming doctor. Burnham’s challenge was immense. In a short period of time, he was forced to overcome the death of his partner and numerous other obstacles to construct the famous “White City” around which the fair was built. His efforts to complete the project, and the fair’s incredible success, are skillfully related along with entertaining appearances by such notables as Buffalo Bill Cody, Susan B. Anthony, and Thomas Edison. The activities of the sinister Dr. Holmes, who is believed to be responsible for scores of murders around the time of the fair, are equally remarkable. He devised and erected the World’s Fair Hotel, complete with crematorium and gas chamber, near the fairgrounds and used the event as well as his own charismatic personality to lure victims.

 

This is my book club read for August.  The fact that it is centered around Chicago fascinated me, and the World’s Fair was a plus as well.  We review this yet this week so I need to get a movie on it.  😀

 

 

 

 

When ten-year-old Enaiatollah Akbari’s small village in Afghanistan falls prey to Taliban rule in early 2000, his mother shepherds the boy across the border into Pakistan but has to leave him there all alone to fend for himself. Thus begins Enaiat’s remarkable and often punish­ing five-year ordeal, which takes him through Iran, Turkey, and Greece before he seeks political asylum in Italy at the age of fifteen.

Along the way, Enaiat endures the crippling physical and emotional agony of dangerous border crossings, trekking across bitterly cold mountain pathways for days on end or being stuffed into the false bottom of a truck. But not every­one is as resourceful, resilient, or lucky as Enaiat, and there are many heart-wrenching casualties along the way.

Based on Enaiat’s close collaboration with Italian novelist Fabio Geda and expertly rendered in English by an award- winning translator, this novel reconstructs the young boy’s memories, perfectly preserving the childlike perspective and rhythms of an intimate oral history.

 

This reminds me of another book I recently read and I can not put my finger on the title now… Soldier Boy maybe… 

 

 

Mark your calendars as next Monday August 15th will be the 100th Its Monday What Are You Reading that I have hosted.  There will be a couple bonus giveaways next week for participants so encourage your readers to join in the fun 😀

I am leaving it there for this week.  I am hopeful to get in more reading this week then I did last week.  I am now excited to see what you are reading – please add your What Are You reading to the linky below where it says click here.  😀

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

65 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. How exciting! I can’t wait to read about your bike trek, it sounds fantastic! Also, plans for next week sound like they are going to be really fun! I’ll check back in the morning, but until then…have a great night! 🙂

  2. Wow, a 150-mile bike ride? I am so impressed!! That sounds amazing – congratulations on completing it!! Are you a bit sore today?

    Looks like you have an awesome reading week lined up – The Help (which as you already know, is fabulous!) AND The Devil in the White City? That’s another amazing book – really fascinating, plus it’s nonfiction that reads like a novel. My husband and I both loved it.

    Enjoy your books this week, Sheila!

    Sue

    1. I actually am a little stiff today…. shoulders (from hunching over) and legs. The legs part is new – but thats from being a little more idle than I usually am this time of year. Got to get back going again 😀

      I am still working to get in to the book and running out of time… my “opportunity” is that I keep trying to read it when I am already tired… 😛

  3. The Help is probably one I would enjoy on audio. I would love to hear the accents, etc. I read it awhile ago, but I’m so excited about the movie! Planning to make a day of it with friends: movie, lunch, etc.

    1. The accents are wonderful Laurel… I can not believe I do not see it coming to our local theater…. I was about to email my book club to see if they all wanted to go on opening day and then seen we do not have it.

      I am a bit….
      annoyed.

      😛

  4. The Help is one of my favorite audios of all time – so very good! Did you know that the actress who reads Minnie is playing Minnie in the movie? I can’t wait to see it – but have a feeling it won’t come to our tiny, one-screen theater in our rural town. May have to make a road trip to Spokane for that one! Have a great week, Sheila. 🙂

  5. I hope to read The Help very soon. Won’t see the movie until it’s on DVD. I can’t believe it’s been 100 already, time sure flies!!!!

    Visited 10 so far!!

  6. I started to read The Devil in the White City years ago, but I couldn’t finish it. I think if I tried again today, I’d have more appreciation. Have a great week!

  7. I can’t wait to hear what you have to say about the audio of The Help as I’ve been telling my friend she should listen to it. I just picked up Devil in the White City a couple of weeks ago so I will be looking forward to that review too!

  8. I liked The Help as a book and have heard it was good audiobook, too. Looking forward to the movie! Devil in the White City is one I’m meaning to get to. Have a good week!

  9. I’m back to report that I left comments on 10 blogs participating in It’s Monday this week. As always, you throw a great party, Sheila! Looking forward to the 100th bash!

  10. I have In The Sea There Are Crocodiles and The Devil In the White City on my shelves waiting to be read. You had a fabulous week and rode a century and a half, well done.
    I am remembering to list how many sites I visited. Thus far today 1-21 and 62-102, totaling 63 blogs.
    Have a great week Sheila.

  11. I have a couple emily giffins on my shelf too. my goal, now that the movie is out, is to get a couple of them read this summer =D

  12. Thanks for such an informative post. I also loved The Help and am so excited to learn it is to be released as a film – I wonder how long it is until it is released here in England.

  13. I wasn’t going to do a post this week, haven’t felt too good, but then I ended up typing away last night…so here goes. My post is up.

    I read The Help, also – loved it. I think I read it in record time because I couldn’t put it down. The movie looks good, but I wonder how close it will be to the book. or if it matters a whole lot – the gist of it counts, the basic message. 🙂 and the pie. 🙂

  14. Hi Sheila- Sometimes life muscles in on reading you know! 🙂 I actually have commented on 10 Monday posts already this week! I started early.
    I think I may well get The Help on Audible. My selections come up on the 19th. Although I have several series I am following I should slip this in.
    Have a great week.

Hmmmm... what do you think?