LISTEN by Rene Gutteridge

Marlo is normally a quiet, peaceful town.  Yet recently a website has popped up called Listentoyourself and it contains residents of Marlo’s most private conversations… conversations that were held in the privacy of their homes with people they trusted.  Soon accusations are flying and the local police force has its hands full trying to sort it all out.

Damien Underwood has been a journalist most of his life.  He has been the creator of the Marlo Sentinal’s crossword puzzle until as of recent he has been offered a chance to do a bit of reporting as well.  Damien along with his best friend Police Officer Frank Merrit are surprised by the sudden popularity of this website that is ripping the town apart.

And Damien has his own home to be concerned with as well, his wife Kay is struggling to fit in with the Cheer Mom’s, his daughter Jenna, normally sweet and easy-going has become sullen and in trouble at school for hitting another girl, his son Hunter is spending too much time in his room on the computer and Damien is concerned with what he may be looking at.

What is happening in Marlo?

This is the first Rene Gutteridge book I have experienced.  A few weeks back, Hannah at Wordlily celebrated a whole week of Rene Gutteridge and I was curious….

As “the power of words” is the theme of this post, Hannah used the power of her words to influence me to give this author that I honestly do not think I have ever heard of, a try.  I am so glad that I did.  And now I am going to use the power of my words to tell you why.  :D

LISTEN is a book surrounded all around the one question.  How responsible are we for our words when we think no one is listening?  What author Rene Gutteridge shows through this book is something I have always believed, words are powerful tools.  Words can lift someone up and they can tear someone down.

In Marlo, neighbor literally turns against neighbor.  While the website Listentoyourself does not mention names – the conversations written out for all to see is word for word of what was said.  People are hurt, in some cases they wrongfully believe some of the writing is about them, even more so, they decide who said it and react to it.

I really enjoyed that while the website is much of this book, it is not the only storyline that Rene Gutteridge has weaved within the pages regarding the power of words.  While Damien is working the website angle, his wife Kay is involved in the words that people say about each other – gossip.  As she tries to fit in with the Cheer Moms and they point the finger at one mom in particular Kay becomes part of the vicious circle of spreading words that hurt.  And a third story line comes in with Jenna and the mean girls (oh wow – they are MEAN) at school.

Every Monday evening I am in a small group that meets and discusses a study that we are doing and last night we touched on the subject of the power of words.  I smiled as it reminded me of this book.

While the book is not without flaws, there were a couple unresolved items and I was left with a few questions, I thoroughly enjoyed this book.  It is a book I did not want to put down and enjoyed the reminder of the power of words, as well as the power of truly listening.   I will most definitely read more of Rene Gutterridge.

Amazon Rating

The 2011 WHERE Are You Reading map has been updated to include LISTEN

I borrowed this book from my library

About Sheila (Book Journey)

Bookaholic * Audio Book Fan *Bike Rider *Rollerblader *Adventure Seeker *Want To Be Runner*Coffee lover *Fitness Fan * Movie junkie

Posted on March 1, 2011, in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed it!

  2. Wow, this sounds kind of intense. I’m looking forward to reading it!

  3. Oh, this does sound like a powerful story, a cautionary tale about being careful what we say when we think nobody is listening…or even if only when the wrong people are listening.

  4. This sounds like a good one. I agree with you that words are very powerful. I guess that is why I read and love it so much. I get lost in the words (in a good way).

  5. Sounds like a very emotional book… I’ll be adding it to my TBR pile!

  6. Goods like a really good read. So glad I got this book when it was free for my Kindle a few weeks back.

  7. This sounds really intriguing! XO

  8. Looks like an interesting read. The plot is a nice twist, different from anything I’ve read. The crossword puzzle journalist who becomes a full-fledged writer sounds very much like a movie I saw, All About Steve. Though, in my opinion, the movie was a flop. Sounds like this book has a lot more going for it, plot wise.

  9. I knew I should’ve downloaded this to my Kindle when it was free!!

  10. I like the premise of the book and would like to see where the author takes it. I may have to pick this one up. Thanks for the review.

  11. Sounds like an intriguing read and one I may pick up at some point. Thanks for your thoughts on it!

  12. I love the premise of this book; I wonder how many of US would feel to find our private conversations out there – would it make us think twice about the words we use?

Hmmmm... what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,532 other followers