It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading, is where we gather to share what we have read this past week and what we plan to read this week.  It is a great way to network with other bloggers, see some wonderful blogs, and put new titles on your reading list.

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment.  You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.

Last weeks winner:

Joy’s Book Blog

Congratulations!  Please choose an item out of the PRIZE BOX (♥selections updated!♥) and email me your choice with your mailing address as well!   journeythroughbooks@gmail.com

AND

The winner of the One Year Anniversary $20 Amazon card goes to:

Coffee And A Book Chick!

I used Random.org to choose the winner of this gift card – adding in all participants from last week as well as an additional vote for participants who left a comment

What a super week I just had – maybe not so much for my reading, every night seemed like I had something going on – something good, I had a few dinners out with friends this past week for my birthday (thus the extra gym time coming up this week…) and just overall BUSINESS that kept me from the books I had hoped to finish.  However – I did have a few things lined up from reviews I had yet to post:

Unspeakable Journey by Rinda Hahn (an amazing audio journey!)

If I Stay by Gayle Forman (Bookies book club read for February)

Berg Fest – join in this author read a long with me!

Author Chat With Rinda Hahn ( chatting it up with the author of Unspeakable Journey!)

A Tiger In The Kitchen by Cheryl Lu-Lein Tan (oh this is a treat of a book! All about Food and Family!)

Excuse me, DO I look FAT In This Book? (hah… I am not explaining this one!)

I have a few yet to post and a few ready to be finished  this week and thing (THINK) that I will be able to make progress.  😀  Perhaps…. hope is a better word.  😛

 

This is what is on my list for this week:

Late in the summer of 1877, a flock of purple-and-white hoopoes suddenly appears over the town of Constanta on the Black Sea, and Eleonora Cohen is ushered into the world by a mysterious pair of Tartar midwives who arrive just minutes before her birth. “They had read the signs, they said: a sea of horses, a conference of birds, the North Star in alignment with the moon. It was a prophecy that their last king had given on his deathwatch.” But joy is mixed with tragedy, for Eleonora’s mother dies soon after the birth.

Raised by her doting father, Yakob, a carpet merchant, and her stern, resentful stepmother, Ruxandra, Eleonora spends her early years daydreaming and doing housework—until the moment she teaches herself to read, and her father recognizes that she is an extraordinarily gifted child, a prodigy.

When Yakob sets off by boat for Stamboul on business, eight-year-old Eleonora, unable to bear the separation, stows away in one of his trunks. On the shores of the Bosporus, in the house of her father’s business partner, Moncef Bey, a new life awaits. Books, backgammon, beautiful dresses and shoes, markets swarming with color and life—the imperial capital overflows with elegance, and mystery. For in the narrow streets of Stamboul—a city at the crossroads of the world—intrigue and gossip are currency, and people are not always what they seem. Eleonora’s tutor, an American minister and educator, may be a spy. The kindly though elusive Moncef Bey has a past history of secret societies and political maneuvering. And what is to be made of the eccentric, charming Sultan Abdulhamid II himself, beleaguered by friend and foe alike as his unwieldy, multiethnic empire crumbles?

I am reading this one for a tour – AND I have two so expect a giveaway!  😀

Thirteen linked tales from Strout (Abide with Me, etc.) present a heart-wrenching, penetrating portrait of ordinary coastal Mainers living lives of quiet grief intermingled with flashes of human connection. The opening Pharmacy focuses on terse, dry junior high-school teacher Olive Kitteridge and her gregarious pharmacist husband, Henry, both of whom have survived the loss of a psychologically damaged parent, and both of whom suffer painful attractions to co-workers. Their son, Christopher, takes center stage in A Little Burst, which describes his wedding in humorous, somewhat disturbing detail, and in Security, where Olive, in her 70s, visits Christopher and his family in New York. Strout’s fiction showcases her ability to reveal through familiar details—the mother-of-the-groom’s wedding dress, a grandmother’s disapproving observations of how her grandchildren are raised—the seeds of tragedy. Themes of suicide, depression, bad communication, aging and love, run through these stories, none more vivid or touching than Incoming Tide, where Olive chats with former student Kevin Coulson as they watch waitress Patty Howe by the seashore, all three struggling with their own misgivings about life.

This is for a bonus review the end of this month with my book club for a “food review”

Since their mother’s death, six years ago, 12-year-old Sadie Kane has lived in London with her maternal grandparents while her older brother, 14-year-old Carter, has traveled the world with their father, a renowned African American Egyptologist. In London on Christmas Eve for a rare evening together, Carter and Sadie accompany their dad to the British Museum, where he blows up the Rosetta Stone in summoning an Egyptian god. Unleashed, the vengeful god overpowers and entombs him, but Sadie and Carter escape. Initially determined to rescue their father, their mission expands to include understanding their hidden magical powers as the descendants of the pharaohs and taking on the ancient forces bent on destroying mankind. The first-person narrative shifts between Carter and Sadie, giving the novel an intriguing dual perspective made more complex by their biracial heritage and the tension between the siblings, who barely know each other at the story’s beginning.

I started listening to this in the car with Chance during our St Cloud road trip this weekend.  I am really enjoying it!

Henry VIII’s challenge to the church’s power with his desire to divorce his queen and marry Anne Boleyn set off a tidal wave of religious, political and societal turmoil that reverberated throughout 16th-century Europe. Mantel boldly attempts to capture the sweeping internecine machinations of the times from the perspective of Thomas Cromwell, the lowborn man who became one of Henry’s closest advisers. Cromwell’s actual beginnings are historically ambiguous, and Mantel admirably fills in the blanks, portraying Cromwell as an oft-beaten son who fled his father’s home, fought for the French, studied law and was fluent in French, Latin and Italian. Mixing fiction with fact, Mantel captures the atmosphere of the times and brings to life the important players: Henry VIII; his wife, Katherine of Aragon; the bewitching Boleyn sisters; and the difficult Thomas More, who opposes the king.

This one I am starting as my plan to try to get through some of the chunksters in my home – I am giving myself two months to complete this.

So that I think is a big enough plan for this week!  I am ready to see what your week was like last week and what your plan is for this next one!  Be sure to click on the linky below where it says “click here”!  😀


Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

 

  • Please note – Linky is going through an upgrade and the following is the message off their website.  Please either link in your comment or please stop back in the morning to add your link to the Linky if it does not work for you.  So sorry about the inconvenience.  😀

  • System Upgrade about 99%DONE:

    Thanks so much for your help and patience while I moved Linky Tools to a faster and more powerful server. Issues I’m aware of and working on:

    1. I’ve gotten a couple of emails about things not showing, but they are showing on my end… this is most likely because the “Internet post office” (DNS) is still updating… it takes 24-48 hours (usually much less) for the entire Internet to update with a new address (it’s still “www.linkytools.com” but the technical address of where the site resides has changed)… anything “missing” because of DNS should clear up in the next few hours, and definitely by morning

127 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I’m not able to link up either. I’ll try sometime tomorrow too. The biggest book on my TBR stack is the newest Tom Clancy – Dead or Alive. I will admit that the size is really intimidating.

  2. I won’t be doing any more chunksters any time soon so Wolf Hall will have to wait, my tbr pile looks like a disaster lol. I would like to read Olive Kitteridge so I’m looking forward to your thoughts on that one.
    Have a great week and happy reading!

  3. Mr Linky is misbehaving but I got through – it just took ages.

    I thought Wolf Hall was fantastic so hope you’ll enjoy your chunkster.
    Oracle of Stamboul is on order at the library so I’m waiting patiently for that one.

    Have a great reading week! 🙂

  4. I loved The Red Pyramid. I started listening to it on audio after reading the print version and I liked it too but didn’t have time to finish it. I really really want to listen to the Percy Jackson series. My car is very finicky and won’t play new audiobooks. It spits them out like there is something wrong with the disc but it will play the beat up ones with scratches. Go figure. Right now I am slowly listening to Soulless by Gail Carriger on my laptop.

    I like your lineup of books for the week. Wolf Hall is on my TBR list but I’m too intimidated to try it yet.

    Since Linky isn’t working, here is my Monday post. Have a great week and I hope you enjoy your reading!

  5. I’ve read that the audio for Wolf Hall was good. I tried to get into it last year, but was not in the right mood. After watching The Tudors, I want to get back to it. Enjoy.

  6. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed Olive Kitteridge. I’ll read The Red Pyramid as soon as I finish the Percy series, and I’m interested in the Oracle of Stamboul. Enjoy your week!

  7. Linky seems to be working now.
    Your books this week look really interesting! I had not heard of any although I recognize Riordan as an author. Glad to see you are braving a chunkster.
    Enjoy all your reading and listening this week!

  8. LinkyTools is not my friend, but I will try again later. In the meantime I can tell you that I’m currently waiting for book 4 in the Percy Jackson-series, but the Rick Riordan book you want to read, looks promising:) Have a great reading week, Sheila!

    And of course, by clicking you can enter my blog!

  9. I read The Red Pyramid last summer and thought it was a bit heavy handed on the mythology. While I did enjoy the characters, it was a very slow read for me and I was kinda exhausted by the end. Maybe the audio is better. Have a great week.

  10. I want to read Wolf Hall some time, too. I want to read it for the booker prize challenge I have subscribed to.

    Olive Kitteridge sounds great, too. I know I have it on my virtual tbr for quite some time but forgot why. Now I know.

  11. Wow, Wolf Hall! I bow to you! I don’t think I can bring myself to read it, at least not yet. I don’t know why, but whenever I pick that book at a library or a bookstore, I mysteriously seem to put it down and drift to greener pastures. I promise, I have nothing to do with it!

  12. Ah, why do you tease me with these new (to me) books? The Oracle of Stamboul and Olive Kitteridge look SO good, but I have too many piles of books already in my soon TBR pile!

  13. Ooh,I can’t wait to get into The red Pyramid.The problem with books like that though is that I usually have o fight my kids for a turn reading them 😛

  14. I have a phobia for chunksters.. Glad you are attacking them.

    Btw, I did visit 10 bloggers today and will come back to visit a few more. For some reason your linky suddenly threw me out 😦

  15. Great books, alas Linky is down but I am sure Brett is working to get it up and running asap. I had a really bad ending to my week and spent a whole day reading and rereading the same chapter. This week should be much better.

    Have a great week!!!

    Dollycas
    http://dollycas.blogspot.com/

    Including my link so people can visit from here if they wish.

  16. Wow, you managed to squeeze in lots of reading and reviewing during busy week – good for you!

    I enjoyed Olive Kitteridge, though not everyone in my book group liked it as well. It’s a unique kind of approach.

    I haven’t read The Red Pyramid yet, but our family are big fans of his Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. I corresponded with Riordan and his wife a bit when I first reviewed The Lightning Thief for Family Fun magazine years ago – they’re really nice, down-to-earth people. He’s a middle-school teacher and they have two sons, about the same ages as my boys. I’m sure their lives have changed dramatically since then!

    Enjoy your books this week –

    Sue

  17. I want to read The Red Pyramid too so glad you are enjoying it. Big books intimidate me as well so I try hard not to read them if I don’t have too so way to go on trying to get through one of your heavy weights..lol

  18. Oracle looks good but alas our library doesn’t have it. But it does have three by Strout and a large print of Olive Kiteridge at that. So I put it in my wishlist.

  19. Olive Kitteridge sounds like a wonderful book. Thank you for the review and sharing your list :}. My recent find is a memoir called,Major Dream: From Immigrant Housemaid to Harvard Ph.D. by Jin Kyu Robertson, PhD, which is about how Robertson went from being a factory worker to a housemaid to a Harvard PhD. She also was a major in the U.S. Army and escaped from an abusive marriage. I was left completely inspired when I read this book and I love the positive message on achieving the American Dream.

  20. Can’t wait to read some of your reviews from this week’s reading list. I really liked Olive Kitteridge, it’s a sad tale but so well written. I own the Wolf novel but haven’t read it yet…. I need to find time to get this one read.

    Hope you are having a great week!

  21. (Hey, I found you again after taking a detour over the last year — KimBee)

    Olive Kitteridge isn’t the most likeable or loveable person, but I ended up liking her at the end. I loved how the short stories connected her to everyone around her.

Hmmmm... what do you think?