It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading, is where we gather to share what we have read this past week and what we plan to read this week.  It is a great way to network with other bloggers, see some wonderful blogs, and put new titles on your reading list.

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment.  You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.

Last weeks winner:

Bev from My Reader’s Block


Congratulations!  Please choose an item out of the PRIZE BOX and email me your choice with your mailing address as well!   journeythroughbooks@gmail.com

 

The two big end of the year holidays are over and my reading has been sporadic as of late.  It seems like I am either reading for hours at a time, or not picking up a book for days.  Here is what this past week looked like:

The WHERE Are You Reading Challenge

A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

Best of 2010

Fallen by Lauren Kate

The 2010 Challenge Recap post

Safe Haven by Nicholas Sparks (not your average Sparks at all!)

This week is a busy one.  I have a meeting every night Mon – Thurs and that puts a crimp in the reading time.  That said, I do still have goals:

Yes Torment was on last weeks list and here it is hopefully being read later this week.

 

The Kitchen Boy is a random pick up off my book shelves and I am sitting about a fourth of the way in this one now.

 

Our Bookies Book Club read for January due next Tuesday so this one hits the front line this week.

 

That’s my plan for this first week of the new year.  I am hoping to read more intentionally this year.  I cant wait to see what books you are reading to start off this new year.  Link up your What Are You Reading post below!  😀


Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

85 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Kate Morton is a fave of mine, beautiful writing and I loved The Forgotten Garden. Can’t wait to read her new one The Distant Hours.
    Have a wonderful week and hope you get in a little more reading time 🙂

    1. Reading time will be tricky this week Sheree but I am really trying to find more time. When I do have time to really dig into a book I just love it. I need more of that instead of a few pages here and there 🙂

  2. loved loved loved the forgotten garden and i have the distant hours waiting
    will be interested to hear your thoughts

  3. My aunt, who has excellent taste in books raved about The Forgotten Garden the last time she visited. When she saw my blog post with my goals for 2011, she emailed me to remind me that I just have to read The Forgotten Garden soon. I don’t think there is higher praise to be had! Enjoy your week!

  4. I have The Kitchen Boy in my TBR pile for this year. It’s been one I’ve been meaning to get to for a long time. Can’t wait to read your review. Hope you have a great reading week and are able to relax a bit!!

    1. Thanks you Christina, I am trying to get reviews posted right away from my reading this year – I write so much better when the book is fresh in my mind. I wrote that one within minutes of finishing it.

  5. Nice lineup for the week. I’m another who loved The Forgotten Garden…….and Kate Morton’s other two books.

    Happy reading!

  6. Although some of the YAs look interesting I just don’t get pulled in too much by them… unless they have a heavy fantasy or paranormal element like Clockwork Angel that I just finished which just happens to involve teen characters.
    I think you will enjoy The Forgotten Garden. I listened to it on Audible last year and liked it.
    Have a great week.

  7. I’ve had The Forgotten Garden on my shelf for a year now and still haven’t gotten around to reading it. Hmmm maybe that’ll be my random selection this week…

  8. I also read A Thousand Splendid Suns in December, and thought it was excellent. The last book I finished was Smoke Screen by Kyle Mills, a pretty good novel about the politics of the tobacco industry. Now I’m reading Jamie Freveletti’s second thriller, Running Dark. It’s off to a goo start.

  9. Good Luck with The Forgotten Garden. Just one person read this for our book club last year, which made for no discussion.

    I read about half of it and handed my copy to someone in Omaha just before the move so I haven’t finished it. Let me know if I should after you are done (I was letting someone read my copy before I moved so they didn’t have to buy the book… I haven’t received it back yet).

  10. I want to read Kitchen Boy and The Lost Garden. Have you read The House of Riverton? I’ve heard that’s really good. It’s by Kate Morton also. I would love to read Torment. It reminds me of the cover of a book I just started called JANE by Alice Lindner.
    Ok, I’m going to fill in Mr. Linky. Have missed coming by. Hope to get back in the routine quickly.

  11. So, I’m a dork…I finished my post last night and went to bed without stopping by or linking up. I’ve been a bit out of it this week. LOL

    I’m SO happy to hear your reading of Fallen turned out to be really good! I loved your review with the picture, it was hilarious! Now I may just have to find time to read the series.

    Have a fabulous reading week and thanks again for hosting this great meme, I look forward to it every week! Happy New Year!

  12. Put my first pin in my map yesterday. Will be back and forth to visit today as stomach permits. See my blog for details 😦

    HAVE A GREAT WEEK!!!

  13. I posted my first ever It’s Monday post and I’m so excited that I read all of the posts ahead of me on the LInky page — and, commented on 10 of them!
    Thanks for the great meme!

  14. The Kitchen Boy was a great book, plus Robert Alexander is from MN! And Kate Morton. You’re really kicking off 2011 in style!
    My first of the year is Take A Chance on Me. It’s a lot of fun, good Brit Chick Lit!

  15. Oh, Wow! I was so busy at work today–I’m just now catching up on blog stuff. I’m so excited to see that I’m the winner! Thanks, Sheila!

    I love the covers of all the books you’ve got up! They all look really interesting!

  16. A belated Merry Christmas An d Happy New Year Sheila ! I have been rather too busy teaching and tutoring these days but I finally made it today to check out what you are upto. I have read ‘The Kitchen Boy’… it is interesting but my attention has been drawn to your Dean Koontz selections. I just finished another Frankenstein adaptation called ‘The Case Book Of Victor Frankenstein’ by Peter Ackroyd and it was pretty good…….and the ending was really spooky.If you have not read it yet….I feel you should try it…..

    Dean Koontz will be interesting, I will try getting a copy of my own and join you.

Hmmmm... what do you think?