It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading, is where we gather to share what we have read this past week and what we plan to read this week.  It is a great way to network with other bloggers, see some wonderful blogs, and put new titles on your reading list.

I love being a part of this and I hope you do too!  As part of this weekly meme I love to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme.  I offer a weekly contest for those who visit 10 or more of the Monday Meme participants and leave a comment.  You receive one entry for every 10 comments, just come back here and tell me how many in the comment area.

Last weeks winner (using Random.Org) was:

Liz of Roving Reads

Congratulations!  Please choose an item out of the PRIZE BOX and email me your choice with your mailing address as well!   journeythroughbooks@gmail.com

*I have been a little late getting out the last few weeks winners and am doing that today.

I had a pretty sweet week here – my first ever Zumba class (which was hilarious but fun!), continued sessions for my book, a lovely low-key low commitment weekend where I was able to chill out and do a little research as well as veg out and watch several movies on Netflix:  The Cure, The Band Played On, When In Rome, and New In Town.  I know right?  What a total lazy head!  AND yes, I did get some reading in too and feel pretty good about all I managed to accomplish – even the chilling part.  😀

So…. What Did I Read This Week?

Peanut Butter Balls cookie recipe from our Girls Weekend

Snicker Surprise Cookie Recipe from our Girls Weekend

The Boticelli Secret by Marina Fiorato (our Bookies Book Club read for November)

Glass Ornament Decorating **Bonus post**

Cake Boss by Buddy Valastro

Silence by Shusaku Endu (review coming this week)

Shoulder Bags and Shootings by Dorothy Howell (review coming this week)

Hide! by Jeff Foxworthy (review coming this week)

By Fire By Water by Mitchell James Kaplan (review coming this week)

The Last Queen by C W Gortner (review coming soon)

Don’t Sing At The Table by Adriana Trigiani (review coming soon)

I did get some reading done this week but did not get many reviews done.  I hope to catch up on some of that this week.

As for this week – I hope to read:


A Darcy Christmas has three shorter stories within the pages for fans of Austen!  I am excited to read this one!

Christmas Present
by Amanda Grange

A Darcy Christmas
by Sharon Lathan

Mr. Darcy’s Christmas Carol
by Carolyn Eberhart

 

Cydney Sanders thought she knew God’s plan for her life. She’d marry, have kids, and then snap her body back into shape by doing Tae Bo. But she’s celebrating her fortieth birthday as the maid of honor at her little sister’s wedding…and still single. Now her life is suddenly complicated by the best man. He’s the opposite of what she wants in a husband…and yet, he keeps defying her expectations. Starting with a lavendar rose–symbolizing enchantment–each rose he sends her reflects his growing love for her.

Cydney’s best friend Dana appears to have the perfect marriage–until she discovers her husband’s affair and her world goes into a tailspin. Then there is Phyllis–who is out of hope and out of prayers after asking God for six long years to help her husband find faith. When she runs into an old friend who is the Christian man she longs for, she’s faced with an overwhelming choice.

 

A mosaic of stories that follow the intertwined lives of three girls coming of age. Two young girls from Jewish and Christian families and their elderly widow next door try to find happiness in a seemingly cruel world. In spite of their different cultural and economic backgrounds, Rebecka, Helen, and Adelle all share the delicate and self-conscious journey to womanhood. All three search for love and meaning in a variety of places a charismatic church, a Depression-era orphanage, a moonlit Savannah park, an orthodox Jewish boarding school and end up finding lasting strength in the power of their friendships.

That is my plan as well as a couple I need to finish up on…. And now I want to know what you are planning on reading this week and what was the awesome and not so awesome reads of this past week!  My trigger finger is itching to get to see what you have been reading.  Add your What Are You Reading post to the linky below :D


Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

104 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Wow you had an awesome week, I’m off to check out your Snicker cookie recipe. I’m also about to order a zumba dvd pack so I can start at home, I’m too much of an ‘unco’ to start in public LOL

  2. Song of the Orange Moons looks interesting. I too love my Netflix. I want to get one of those BluRay players that streams them on the TV so I can stop using my laptop, it has terrible sound.

  3. Oh! I just got Don’t Sing At the Dinner Table as well, and I’m really anxious to read it. Now I’m really curious to see what you thought about it.

    I loved all your posts this week! It was so fun getting to see the Christmassy stuff as well! Hope you have a fabulous reading week coming up!

  4. I’m getting ready to start on some Christmas reading myself though I had to put the first book down. I was reading the intro for Fireside Book of Christmas Stories, which was published ages go. Needless to say the editor using some deragatory language about minorities and while I know it was the times the book was published, it turned me off anyway.

  5. Hi Shelia,

    Great books and recipes! Faithful is on my list also but not for this week. I am a first-time visitor. You read a LOT of books. My goal is to read one book per day.

    Chat soon 🙂

  6. ‘Darcy Christmas’ is a great book and you will enjoy it for sure. I am reading a selection of horror stories but all in Hindi so that may not interest you……I love the concept of ‘Faithful’ and I am going to search for it at my bookstore.
    The cover of ‘Faithful’ is quite calming and romantic….a good way to cool down my terror/horror fiction !
    Enjoy your day and waiting for the reviews !!

  7. I’ve become obsessed with finding new recipes – I love to bake! How did you like When In Rome – I thought it was so cute!

    Your books this week look really good – I might have to check out that ‘Darcy Christmas’ – it looks cute.

    Have a great week!

    1. I like did too Kristen, I actually thought both When In Rome and New In Town were better than I expected them to be. 🙂

      I am hoping the Darcy book will give me the shot of Austen that I need to get reading more of her works.

  8. Ah, a chillin’ weekend filled with books and movies sounds wonderful! If you’re ever looking for movie recommendations, I post Movie Monday on my chronic illness blog every week! (www.livewithcfs.blogspot.com)

    Looks like you’re getting in the holiday spirit with some Christmas-themed reads. I can’t bear to think that the holidays are upon us already! Too much to do…

    Looks like a good reading line-up for this week – enjoy!

    Sue

    1. It always looks impressive on the blog Staci but in reality some of those books I have been working on for weeks and occasionally I seem to have a time when several get finished within days of each other. 😀

      I love those moments!

  9. I hope to read Darcy’s Christmas too. I need to finish a mystery. Almost done if something or someone doesn’t sidetrack me. Sidetracks are good too.

    Love your cookiing page.

  10. It’s Monday! I have been on the run for two weeks and am so ready for this week…. peace and quiet. I hope to catch up on all things blog (reviews and post).

    I saw you teaser for an upcoming trip in December, I will be back today to catch up and see where you are going. Time to get some work done! 🙂 It is almost 9am for me.

    Have a wonderful week Sheila!

  11. Faithful sounds really good to me and I love the cover of the first book you posted.. Have a great week and keep the recipes coming 😉

  12. I am always blow away by the sheer number of books you get through each week. I’m super envious of your reading skills.

  13. Ther’s a book on your nightstand, “Coffee and Fate”, and it’s screaming pick me, Pick Me, PICK ME (or maybe that’s just the author) .

  14. I am back after a break! The Darcy Christmas sounds good, i see most people feel the same way. Your week sounds awesome. I have just passed the 10th blog and they are starting to run into each other, lol. Will be back later.

  15. What a wonderful, rounded week! You got a lot of reading done too! (I’ve had those weeks where I read a lot, but the reviews just didn’t make it onto the blog!) I hope you liked By Fire, By Water … I really did. I’ll look for your review. AND A Darcy Christmas has GOT to go on my buying list! I’m actually going to keep track of how many blogs I visit this week instead of being so random, and I’ll come back and let you know how many I get to!

    1. Cheryl I keep weird hours and my hubby does too. He is in bed each night around 8:30 pm and I read until midnight normally unless I am super tired.

      I also had a pretty laid back weekend so I enjoyed some bonus reading time this week 🙂

  16. Faithful is waiting patiently on my TBR pile, which has become stacks!! I need to learn speed reading! Talked to one of my daughters about the painted ornaments and she thought it sounded like fun. She was going to hunt up the supplies and thought maybe we could combine it with cookie baking at my mother-in-laws. All the girls get together and bake cookies on a Saturday near Christmas. I haven’t gone lately but may attend this year.

    off to make a giveaway post and then start my visiting.

    Lori

    1. Lori I dont even know what to call my TBR anymore. Mountain? It is a full bookcase (5 foot one with 5 shelves) as well as a growing pile next to it…. I need some sort of super powers to catch up 🙂

      The cookies and craft would work well together as the ornaments need to dry. I hope you post pictures on your blog! 😀

  17. I’m just finishing up reading EIGHTEEN ACRES by Nicole Wallace. Is just okay for me. But has some good behind the scenes info for people interested in the white house and politics.

  18. Hey Sheila! You had a great reading week. I barely find time for a few books a week. I’d need superpowers to read that much in one week! I haven’t done the comment thing before, so I’m not sure exactly how it works, but I’ve just gotten 10 done. That Prize Box has some titles I’ve been dying to get!

  19. I messed up with the linky list! Sorry–I just didn’t understand how it works, and whereas I wanted to create an entry right there talking about what I had read, I linked instead to the book blog I run for our book club, which is not a space for me to talk about my personal reading.

    Could you please remove my link? So sorry, next time I will know better. Thank you.

  20. Looking forward to your thoughts on Faithful. I love Nexflix (through the Wii) too! My daugther wants me to take a Zumba class with her, I said only if there is a mix of ages. I am NOT taking a class with all 26 year olds! Not gonna do it!

Hmmmm... what do you think?