Interview with The Wicked…. errr… Sorely Misunderstood Witch of Snow White

Readers, today I am excited and maybe a little nervous to be interviewing the witch from Snow White and The Seven Dwarfs.   I am extremely thankful that she was able to take time to meet with me here today at Book Journey as I know that this is normally a very busy time of year for witches, however she was able to fit us in.  Please give a warm welcome to uhhhh…….  errrrrrrr….. Snow White’s evil Stepmother…. The Witch.

♦     ♦     ♦


Welcome!  I usually open up my interviews by asking my guests how they take their coffee.


Thank you for asking, but I am really more fond of apple cider.  This time of year I prefer it hot.


Ummmm….. ok.  I think I can handle that.  I am a little embarrassed to admit this, but I do not know your first name.


Well that is kind of you to ask.  Most people just refer to me as Wicked Witch or Evil Step Mother and that is a bit degrading.  However, my name was never mentioned in the original story of Snow White or during the film.  In both cases this is really a sore spot with me.  My name is in the script though and it is Grimhilda.


Grimhilda!  Why it is lovely!  Thank you for sharing that.


No.  It’s not lovely, it was handed down to me from my great great great great great great great grandmother, Grimhilda the first, and believe me, she wasn’t any peach. You think I was hard on Snow White?  HA!  That woman would have made up look like sorority sisters.


Oh.  Ok.  Well, since you mentioned that some referred to you as the Wicked Witch, I am curious about how you feel about all the attention now given to Elphaba, the true wicked witch from The Wizard Of Oz.  I mean, ever since Gregory Maguire wrote Wicked in 1995, she has received a lot of attention.


Oh barf on a cracker!  That really gets my green up!  Everywhere I look it is Elphaba this, Elphaba that!   Yeah poor Elphaba, you would think she was the only one ever born green.  She is like a Lifetime story in the making.   As if the book wasn’t bad enough, then she became the star of a Broadway play.   I seen the play.  What a bunch of fly stew hookey.  I just rolled my eyes.  You know I was there while she was growing up…. there is another side to that witch that you do not even know.  I keep waiting for her and her sob story to appear on Oprah.  Or maybe she will be sipping tea with the ladies of  The View.


I am sorry, I didn’t realize I was bringing up such a sensitive topic. Were you not featured in the book, The Fairest Of  Them All?  It just came out the fall of last year.


That book?  Oh please!  I was so misquoted I don’t even want to talk about it.


Lets move on.  Uhhh….. I must say your hair looks quite lovely and not at all the way I remember it from the book or the movie.  What is your secret?


I just had these highlights put in yesterday for this interview.  I mean breaks like this don’t come around often for me.  No one really talks about me anymore, so I need to take full advantage when I can.    I do use a little apple sauce when I wash it.


What would you like to say to everyone Grimhilda?


I just want people to know that I am still around.  Sure I don’t star on Broadway, but I do exist.  I have a little cottage that I live in year around just off Nantucket.  The sea air really does wonders for my skin.


Well I do not want to keep you, this is Halloween after all and I am sure you probably have a lot going on.


NO, not really.  I just don’t get into it like I did when I was younger and able to mess with Snow White’s head.  Actually tonight I am making a huge bowl of popcorn and am watching the first season of LOST.  Sawyer really gets the heart pumping.


Well, that’s just awkward.  Ok, I think I should reel this interview in, but it is tradition that I ask each person…. errr….. witch, I interview to share with me a little known fact about themselves.


Well – that’s just easy as pretty much everything about me is little known because I have not been the star of me own book.  Hmmmmphhh.  I speak fluent Spanish.   I belong to a Book Club that has been meeting monthly for 28 years.  We are called The Coven and we are currently reading The Seven Habits Of Highly Effective People by Stephen Covey.    Oh, and I also play the accordion and I am working on my first novel, ‘It Ain’t Easy Being Green’.



Thank you for sharing your time with us today Grimhilda.  I wish you all the best in your future and I look forward to your book!


Readers, in the spirit of Halloween I would like to offer a lovely copy of Snow White and The Seven Dwarfs by Cynthia Rylant, an author I just recently read and enjoyed.  I will also toss in a Halloween treat.


To enter simply leave a comment here on this interview.  If you would like to ask Grimhilda a question, I believe I can get her to stop back in and respond.  This giveaway will stay open until Thursday November 4th.  USA and Canada addresses only please.

Have a safe and Happy Halloween!

About Sheila (Book Journey)

Bookaholic * Audio Book Fan *Bike Rider *Rollerblader *Adventure Seeker *Want To Be Runner*Coffee lover *Fitness Fan * Movie junkie

Posted on October 31, 2010, in Book Giveaways, Book Stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 34 Comments.

  1. They do not teach proper grammer to witches do they..I SEEN the play??? Did she see the play or had she seen the play?
    Witch school needs to get with it!!!

  2. That was the best interview I’ve ever read!!

    I learned so much about Grimhilda, but I think I want to know one more thing. So if you’d please ask Grimhilda this for me, I’d appreciate it ever so much!

    My question is:
    Name something wicked that you’ve did to someone and wish you hadn’t.

    • Oh no!!!! Call the grammer cops!!

      I guess I need to go to that grammer school with Grimhilda, I meant to say “that you’ve done, not did”.

      That’s what happens when you delete part of your post and then type something else.

  3. Oh bats, I forgot to say that Gram needs to go to spelling schooI because grammer is spelled grammAr. Instead, I decided to join her.

  4. The movie of “Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs” came out in 1937, and someone (possibly my Aunt Bonnie) took me to see it when I was about four — that would have been about 1944. I remember being terrified of the witch. When she brought the poisoned apple, I closed my eyes and covered my ears with my hands — but I still heard more than I wanted to hear.

    This site gives you an idea of how scary the movie was to youngsters in that ancient day: “In England, the film was deemed too scary for children, and those under 16 had to be accompanied by a parent.”

    Please ask Grimhilda if she was as terrifying as the witch in the film version was. I wouldn’t be quite as afraid of her now that I’m 70, but I have no desire to experience that dreadful feeling ever again.

  5. Glad to see you are obviously a fan of “Lost” and
    Sawyer! I am sure he would fall madly in love
    with you…
    Thanks, Cindi

  6. Ooo. I’ve loved Snow White since I was a little girl. My favorite fairy tale!

  7. This is wonderful. I just got back from a Wicked night of Broadway, where members of a local choir performed selections from Wicked and Les Mis. The too teenager who sang Popular and Defying Gravity were neat.

  8. What a fun interview! “Fairest of All” is still sitting in my TBR pile, I actually thought of it today hehe!

    And I adore Elphaba! Best green witch there is (shhh) :)

  9. Snow White was my favorite story growing up. I can’t wait to share it with my niece and nephew when they get a little older.

  10. Fun! My daughter would love that book, although her favorite princess is Aurora. So she wants to know if Grimhilda is friends with Maleficent from Sleeping Beauty.

  11. Great question! Turns out they are 2nd cousins, on the warlock side. LOL :lol:

  12. You crack me up, Sheila!

  13. A great, fun filled post. Can I ask which of the dwarfs Grimhilda would most like to put a spell on and why?

    • Grimhilda responds: Hands down it is Happy. Annoying little thing. Nothing gets him down. Obviously he never had to deal with a very annoying step daughter who loved all creatures and they all love her! The birds…. oh the birds that surrounded Snow White constantly….. those awful birds…..

  14. What a fantastic interview! This brought a smile to my face!! The pictures are priceless and made my smile just that much bigger!!!

  15. I must say that is a lovely nose you had on there and a wonderful shade of green.
    The interview was great! We love Wicked here too also.

  16. That was a cute interview that really made me laugh and the pictures were really the “cherry on top”. I bet that was fun!

  17. I love your makeup ;) was it the oil or the powder stuff? I am a new GFC follower here & newsletter subscriber since I think blogfest about a month ago.. This was a fun post to read. Have a good day and thank you for the contest. Snow White Rules!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Interview with The Wicked…. errr… Sorely Misunderstood Witch of Snow White « One Persons Journey through a world of Books -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? « One Persons Journey through a world of Books

Hmmmm... what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,529 other followers