Game On Diet by Krista Vernoff and AZ Ferguson

Wha….  what’s this about?

The Game On Diet is a book written by two co-workers, Krista Vernoff and AZ Ferguson.  Krista is the Executive producer for Grey’s Anatomy and AZ is the Body-For-Life Million Dollar Champion.

The book is set up as a competition.  Through teams, points are earned each day by eating right, avoiding certain foods/beverages, and spending at least 20 minutes a day through exercise.  The teamwork aspect is an additional “kick in the pants” to get you on track and stay on track.  Heckling the other team and encouraging your own is HIGHLY recommended.

What I really like about this book is that when you read it – it is doable.  When you look at the food lists, they are all great food choices and not really restrictive.  There are also yummy healthy recipes in the book that I can’t wait to implement.  What the Game On Diet is doing is teaching you healthy habits that will in turn create – a healthier, slimmer you.

  • 20 minutes a day of exercise 6 days a week is not a big commitment.  Take a walk, a bike ride, run stairs…
  • 7 hours a sleep a night or lose points?  BEAUTIFUL – I love this!
  • Avoid pop…. even diet.
  • Avoid fried foods and high fat foods
  • Avoid white sugar
  • limit breads
  • You eat five meals a day (WHAT?)  yes – five
  • One day off a week (ooh, I like that!)
  • Dropping bad habits (this is worth points!)
  • Implementing new good habits (also worth points!)

While much of this is “back to the basics” stuff, I still read this book and found myself getting excited about actually doing this.  The accountability is huge for me and the goal is one I have been trying to reach on my own for months now and failed – two steps forward…. three steps (and perhaps some ice cream) back).

What Krista and AZ have written here works because it reads like a game.  It is a game…. and with friends, co workers, and in my case, fellow bloggers – you all work together for the same goal.


Ok – confession time.  Here is why I want to play.  A year ago I was a calorie burning machine.  I ate well, portion control, worked out and managed my health well.  Maybe – too well.  I love love LOVE to eat and there really are not too many foods that I do not like.  Over the winter I slowly got away from my healthy habits and I am saddened to say – have lost my “muchness” for staying at the fitness level that I know is right for my body type.

The opportunity here for me is that I tend to over achieve.  I set my mind on something and I will be counting calories down to the blueberry.  I am discouraged if we are invited out to eat with friends because I do not have control over every thing in my food.  This is where I start to fail.  I can maintain my strictness for so long (months!)and then I cave in to cravings…  I know because I have lost the weight time and again and about a year or so later it creeps back.  I go too far.  Again and again.

For those of you who read my blog know I work out frequently and lead an active life.  That part I handle pretty well and thank goodness because man I do like good food!  :D  What I like about what is presented here is that it is not calorie strict, it teaches portion control.  You are encouraged to eat 5 meals a day, keeping them between 2-4 hours apart but never more than four hours.  Training yourself to eat this way will eliminate that need we (and by we, I mean I) have to snack throughout the mid afternoon or late evening (both trigger times for me).

Twelve bloggers have joined together to do this one month program starting August 1.  On August 1, I will step on my scale (*gulp*) for the first time in 2010.  I am going to do this, and I am going to do it right.

My goal?  Getting back into good eating habits, retraining myself to drop the snacking habits I seem to fall into and to get back into my favorite pants without passing out.


Ok… that was awkward. BUT, I think if I post the picture… tell the truth in what I am trying to do to the world, I am more likely to succeed.  *Deep breath*

I will post weekly my progress.  I have to share it with the others and turn in my points weekly to them, so I may as well share it with you as well.  One month.  That’s all it is.  If it is everything I am hoping it will be – I will continue beyond the month.

You can check out the Game On Diet here on-line.  I purchased my copy of the book from Amazon.

*Once I get started I am going to have a widget for the Game On Diet on my upper side bar so you can follow along on my progress if you so choose.  I will use that as an online diary of where I am at.

You can link to my Game On Diet Journal here (this is where I will rant and hopefully rave as I do this diet in August with 12 other bloggers.

I Purchased at Amazon

About Sheila (Book Journey)

Bookaholic * Audio Book Fan *Bike Rider *Rollerblader *Adventure Seeker *Want To Be Runner*Coffee lover *Fitness Fan * Movie junkie

Posted on July 29, 2010, in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. Whenever I’ve done the best, it’s been those times when I exercised regularly and ate those five meals a day. Now they’re not big meals; a couple of them could be called “snacks,” but they contain energy-filled items like protein.

    I know it works. My problem is sticking to this kind of program. I did it for two-and-a-half years, and then I started slipping up.

    Another important component (besides food journaling) is the group support.

  2. I know you will do it! I’m going to try the one month challenge but not join — just follow you guys along. I need to lost at least 10 pounds before the Beverly Hills Literary Escape!

  3. This sounds really awesome and maybe even fun. I have been looking for a fun and easy way to lose some weight that didn’t require me to starve myself or avoid the foods that I love. I look forward to seeing how this works for you! Best of luck.

  4. I’ve heard about this a lot — almost decided to do it last year, but I didn’t have a group. And when I saw this group forming on Twitter a few weeks ago, I kept my mouth shut. Good luck!

  5. There were a group of bloggers doing this Game On Diet together some months back. It seemed like many of them met with some pretty big success. Good luck with your endeavors and I could certainly relate to a lot of what you said. I’m going to Hawaii (leaving Thanksgiving Day) and want to lose 15 pounds before I go. Hey, maybe I need to order this book for my Kindle right now!!!

  6. That is so great! Thanks for the post, it sounds like a fun challenge. :) I am like you and love being active, but tend to snack when I shouldn’t.

    It’s funny because when I went to France and was eating a ton of pastries and was walking more than lifting weights, I LOST weight! Just proved how much muscle weighs more than fat – since I definitely wasn’t being as healthy conscious.

    Have fun on your challenge and I’m excited to hear how it goes. :)

  7. The more I hear about this, the more I think I’d like to read this book.

  8. I did it last year…it is very doable. My only advice is to not go crazy on your day off! Otherwise, it makes the next day that much harder.

  9. Oh gosh, I need this SO badly. I am up 15 pounds in the last year and a half and it doesn’t feel good. Maybe I’ll go buy this book this weekend and do it along with you. But you’re right, the accountability to others really does help

  10. Getting back into the swing of things has been on my mind a lot lately, but it has been pushed back by a lot of other changes happeing in my life. Last summer at this time I was in the best shape I had been in in years and then we went on vacation and I relaxed and over the course of the winter I gained ten pounds which I am having issues with. I might need to check out this book too.

    • Jill its always on my mind and I am wonderful during the day (so busy running around) then I get home and all I want to do is eat – snack all the way until dinner, sometimes dont eat dinner as I am full from snacking….. GAH!! :D

  11. Good luck – you can do it! Something about being public about it always give me that extra push! Plus you lead such an active life already I bet you’ll drop those pounds in no time!

  12. I have so many diet books and never stay on one for long. Part of the problem is I do it alone. It does help to have a partner or team to work with. the support and competition are big helps. will be checking into this one.

  13. I have heard about this book…this past winter I think. Anyway, i think doing it with a group is a great way to go. I am curious about the book, maybe my library has it. If you guys do start another group, I hope I would be able to to join in.

    Wish you luck, and I sure that you can do this.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Game On Diet by Krista Vernoff and AZ Ferguson « One Persons Journey through a world of Books -- Topsy.com

Hmmmm... what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,527 other followers