Choose (AND WIN!) The Next Book I Read


We have played this before and it is time for round three of “Choose The Next Book I Read!”   For those who are new to this occasional post, I will explain what this is.

I LOVE book sales and our local library has a spring and a fall one that are wonderfully priced books that I can not resist.  The books are beautiful and gently used.  The opportunity lies in the fact that once I bring these treasures home they tend to stay in the box I placed them in when I purchased them for months to come.  This is where you come in.

What I am posting here is the pictures of all the books I have picked up from the spring library sale as well as the new additions of the books I purchased last weekend at the Silver Bay Minnesota Library sale.

All you do is look over these titles and leave a comment here with the name of the book you would like to win.  On Friday morning I will use random.org to choose a winner.  Then that book will go with me this weekend to be read and once read I mail it on to the winner.  It is a win – win!  I actually read one of the treasures that I bought, and you get a book that you would like!  :D

So here my little beauties are – have fun picking!

New From The Silver Bay Sale

Part 2 of the Silver Bay Sale

Brainerd Spring Sale

Brainerd Spring Library Sale

Brainerd Spring Library Sale

You choose the book :D

About Sheila (Book Journey)

Bookaholic * Audio Book Fan *Bike Rider *Rollerblader *Adventure Seeker *Want To Be Runner*Coffee lover *Fitness Fan * Movie junkie

Posted on July 28, 2010, in Book Stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 93 Comments.

  1. Colleen Turner

    I would love to read Life’s A Beach by Claire Cook. It sounds SO good!!!
    Thanks!

  2. Once again I’m choosing The Thief :D
    Happy reading!!!

  3. your library sales are great!!!!

    year of wonders was just a fabulous read…so detailed and so interesting!!!!!

    highly highly recommended!

  4. How about the curious incident of the dog in the
    night-time?!
    Thanks, Cindi

  5. Kitchen Priviledges by Mary Higgins Clark is the book I would like you to read and then I can read it too.

  6. the next book you should read is summer people –
    summer is half over so you don’t have much time – if you wait much longer you’ll be reading summer people in the winter – it’s just not the same

    ewhatley at embarqmail dot com

  7. I’m going with Claire Cook’s Life’s a Beach.

  8. I’m picking Waterfalls, by Robin Jones Gunn!!!! I love her books!

  9. Life’s a Beach Claire Cook!!

    what great finds – super envious!!

  10. I am selecting A Homemade Life because it has been on my TBR for ages. Would love to hear your take on it.

  11. Hmm…that’s quite a selection!
    Though I’m tempted by the summery titles there….I’m gonna suggest….MIRROR MIRROR by Gregory Maguire. I have WICKED in my TBR mountain and the author’s books are suppose to be really good….
    Happy reading! ^_^

  12. I’d like to read Nefertitti.

    bgcchs(at)yahoo9dot)com

  13. My suggestion would be Nefertiti by Michelle Moran. I looved this book.

    No need to enter me in the giveaway

  14. I vote for Fallen Skies by Phillipa Gregory.

  15. I think I will vote for Mirror, Mirror again….

  16. Oh, my, what a lot of lovely books to choose from!

    I’m going to say Mrs. Dalloway, because I’ve been wanting to read it, but I have to be in the right mood…and when I checked it out of the library, I had to return it before I read it.

    Maybe you’ll want to read it too!

    Here’s my e-mail:

    chezraine@gmail.com

  17. Child 44. I keep hearing fantastic things about it–a friend of mine said that it was a good, quick read!

  18. I’ve been wanting to read “The Mermaid Chair” by Sue Monk Kidd , so that’s my vote.

  19. I’d choose “Child 44″ by Tim Rob Smith. Thanks for the giveaway!

  20. Nefertiti!! Child 44!!!!

  21. I’d would have to nominate “Child 44″ by Tim Smith. Thanks for the giveaway.

  22. Ooh, ooh! Harry Potter! Or no, wait. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time. That’s the one I’ll go with.

  23. some many good ones. no need to put me in the drawing. but recommendations for another time — Empire Falls, The Club Dumas, Year of Wonders, Curious Incident,

  24. Year of Wonders!

    please enter me if this is international.

    Misha
    mishamary@gmail.com

  25. There are two book that I love listed here: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Terror, and this one also caught my eye, and may be more appropriate for taking and reading at the cottage: Life’s A Beach! Both sound like great reads. Either one I would love to win. Although, you have a few other titles that look interesting and I have put on my reading list too!

    Thank you for hosting this unique and wonderful giveaway.

    terrymac1a at hotmail dot com

  26. I already own The Kite Runner but that’s the book I would recommend you read. Really engrossing read.

  27. I think you should read Nefertiti because it is really good. I would like to win Truth and Beauty.

  28. Oh you have to read Nefertiti!

  29. Summer People because I think I am a summer person…love summer time, being on a different schedule (I’m a teacher), spending time with friends and family more, hanging out by the pool. Thanks for the chance to win!

  30. I’m going with The Robber Bride by Margaret Atwood.

  31. I think I put this last time, so I’ll put it again… Mirror Mirror by Gregory Macguire.

    P.S. – What a great way ti choose a book to read!

  32. I think you should read Child 44. I would love to read it after you. Thanks for the chance to win.

  33. My choice would be “Dance upon the air” by Nora Roberts.

  34. I like to read Outtakes From A Marriage by Ann Leary, because Leary is my maiden name.

  35. Because the title really caught my eye, I’m going to go with “Please Stop Laughing At Me …”
    Sounds interesting. Gotta love a good title.

  36. Well after having just finished Claire Cook’s latest, I was tempted to say “Life’s A Beach” but I think I’m going with something heavier and picking Virginia Woolf’s Mrs. Dalloway.

  37. I pick High Tea in Mosul.
    Thanks fo the giveaway!

  38. Nefertiti!!!!

  39. Empire Falls by Richard Russo. (You really need to read Queen of the Big Time, but I’m not picking that since I’ve already read it.)

  40. What fun! “Year of Wonders” is an excellent book, but since I’ve read it, I choose “TRUTH AND BEAUTY” by Ann Patchett for you (and then me) to read.

  41. My vote is for Ann Patchett!

  42. I’m sure you would enjoy Waterfalls by Robin Jones Gunn as I’m sure I would(enjoy it). Thanks for hosting this giveaway and for your kindness and generosity.

  43. Vision in White by Nora Roberts! I love her!

  44. Mary Higgins Clark please, hope you enjoy it, she is my favourite author but I haven’t read that one and want to collect all of them.

    marceblogspot(at)hotmail(dot)com

  45. Have you never read the Harry Potter series??? Oh my gosh, pick that one for sure…be forewarned though, once you do the first, you’ll want to finish the entire series.

    • Joy – oh I have read all the Potter books – twice, and now going through them on CD….. I just thought this particular one was cool – a different cover and format then I have seen. I should probably pull that one and just keep it for my collection. :D

  46. Read either Empire Falls or the Best Of Friends…I have read both so donate my win…should I win of course…hee hee hee…to another follower…I loved both of those books!!!

  47. Gopnik’s Paris to the Moon. He’s such a great writer, and I’d like to read it too!

  48. Mirror Mirror! I’ve been meaning to read that one. :)

    misusedinnocence@aol.com

  49. I’d pick Nefertiti….would love to read this one. Thanks for the entry.

    Blessings,
    Sandee61

  50. I’m going to say Child 44.

  51. This is going to be the hardest choice yet. You picked up many books I’ve been wanting to read at the Silver Bay sale. Either you got there right when they opened or they had an awesome selection. I have been curious about CHILD 44, but it sounds a bit dark for me right now. Of the others, I think I’d like you to read Michelle Moran’s NEFERTITI. That was a hard choice since I’d still like you to review the one I chose last month, Club Dumas. Then of course there is Claire Cook’s book. Whichever book is selected, it will be good.
    See why I get so little reading done. It takes me too long to decide what to read next.

  52. i choose “The Curious Incident of the Dog at Nighttime” as a good book to read. This book
    received positive reviews.

  53. I am going to go with The Best of Friends.

  54. Year of Wonders is a brilliant book and Geraldine Brooks is Australian, so that’s obviously my choice! My other pick would be Child 44. My mum has recommended it to me but I haven’t managed to pick it up yet.

  55. Good Golly! Did you take a Uhaul to the library sale? That’s a lot of books! I think Please Stop Laughing at Me has your name written all over it! :)

  56. I pick Life’s a Beach.

  57. Cathy Bocchini

    I pick The Best Of Friends…..i know i could sure use a good read about best friends right now…….to cheer me up, life is tough these days!

    Happy Reading!

  58. I’m picking Life’s a Beach…you have so many great books there!! Did you accidentally buy 2 copies of Year of Wonders?? It showed up in two different photos :D!!

    • I seen I had picked that one up from the Brainerd sale and then again at the Silver Bay sale Staci – guess I really like the sound of it – LOL. There is another book from the Silver Bay sale that I bought two of because they were in beautiful condition and only 25 cents. If either book wins I will send the one copy off right away and read and review the other. :D

  59. I would pick The Sweet Life by Lynn York.

    Thanks for the chance to win.

    Have a blessed day!

  60. stilettostorytime

    It so depends on what you are in the mood for…but I am going to have to say from what I have read and can have an honest opinion on…. or what I want to read badly….you should read: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time.

    Thanks for an interesting and fun contest!

    Courtney

  61. I would say The Thief, but since we’re winning the book we pick and I already have that one, I’m going to go with Nefertiti. :)

  62. I loved Neferiti-you should read that-you may also want to read A Homemade Life-Molly will seem like your friend by the time you are finished with the book.

  63. Robber Bride by Margaret Atwood. I love her books

  64. I’d like to read Mirror Mirror by Gregory Maguire. I didn’t like Son of a Witch but I’d really like to give his books another try. :-)

  65. Queen of the big time i think is the title is something I would like to read. Enjoy :)

  66. Child 44 by Tom Rob Smith

  67. This is tough. I don’t know if it’s really the next book that you should read, but it’s the next book you should read that I don’t have or haven’t read…Year of Wonders.

  68. I vote for Atwood’s Robber’s Bride!! I think I voted for this same book last time I voted!!

  69. I’m voting for The Dangers of Mistletoe!

    Julie

  70. I was going to say Nefertiti, but then I saw Mirror, Mirror. That one, go with that one!

    Freaky Friday sounds great. We would have to do it during the summer though; not so sure that I could handle one of your winters;)

  71. Pick Vision in White. AWESOME book!

  72. Fat Girl.

    JHS
    Colloquium

    jhsmail at comcast dot net

  73. What a great selection of books! I have read quite a few of these. The one that caught my eye is Slightly Single by Wendy Markham. Thanks for the opportunity!

    bunnymom1970 at aol dot com

  74. I’d pick the Kite Runner, heard it was suppose to be good.

  75. Nefertiti (Did I spell that right). I’ve actually been contemplating buying that one every time I’ve been in Target.

  76. The Club Dumas!!

    freda.mans[at]sympatico.ca

  77. I’m going to go with High Tea in Mosul! Great idea by the way!

    thewindowseatreader (AT) yahoo (DOT) com

  78. I would choose A Homemade Life. I have been eyeing that one. I bet it’s good. That’s my choice. This is fun.

  79. You have so many great books to choose from! I’d say go for The Curious Incident… because it’s a really good book, but since I’ve already read that one myself, I’m choosing The Thief.

  80. i choose….’life’s a beach’ by claire cook.
    what a fabulous collection of books you have :)

  81. Oops.. I missed this! I would suggest Virginia Woolf’s Mrs. Dalloway! :)

  82. I think you shall be reading…. “Child 44″ by Tom Rob Smith! At least, I hope you do. :)

    Aloha!

  83. Well I’m late but I suggest Mrs. Dalloway by Viginia Wolf.

  84. Walking Minnesota

  85. ‘lifes a beach’ by claire cook…enjoy it :)

  86. I’d love to read “Face the Fire” by Nora Roberts. Thanks for the giveaway!

  1. Pingback: Choose (and WIN!) The Next Book I Read « One Persons Journey through a world of Books

Hmmmm... what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,531 other followers