It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Whew! What an honor! J Kaye over at J Kaye’s Blog has transferred this meme to me. I am excited as this is a wonderful weekly meme that basically reviews how your last reading week went, and what is on deck for this current week. J Kaye did such a wonderful job hosting this meme and I hope we will all continue to honor her by keeping this meme going strong! :)

One of the key things I have enjoyed about this meme is that it gives me a chance to link to other book bloggers and what they are reading this week. I encourage you highly to not only participate in this weekly with your own post and link to it here – but to also make a point to visit other participants.

Saying that, here is what I would like to offer. Go out and visit a minimum of 10 other participants that have linked to this meme and leave a valid comment (by valid I mean no one word “cool” or “thanks”, but an actual comment). Let me know here in the comment section that you did that and I will enter you into a weekly drawing for a book out of the Prize Box (your choice). Winners will be announced at the following It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? post.

Want to comment on more than 10? Say 20? Ok, I like your style! 20 will get you 2 entries, 30 will get you 3, etc…

This past week I:

Reviewed:

Beguiled

I, Alex Cross

February Social Justice Challenge:  Water

Home Is Where The Wine Is

dream HOUSE

Angels

Searching For Tina Turner

That probably looks like a lot of books but I have been on vacation this week!  Woo hoo!


Here is my week:


The Hotel On The Corner Of Bitter and Sweet (my book club read – I get back to Brainerd on Tuesday and Tuesday evening is our review!


Wounded by Claudia Mair Burney (being read for a round table discussion later this month)

Anything beyond that I am going to leave open.  We will head back to Minnesota on the 9th so I will have time to read on the plane and on the 11th we start driving for Illinois – 9 hours there and return on the 14th – 9 hours back.  All reading time while Al drives.  :)

Ready?

Sign up with your post link! I would love to see what you are reading this week!

Powered by MckLinky

Click here to enter your link and view the entire list of entered links…

About Sheila (Book Journey)

Bookaholic * Audio Book Fan *Bike Rider *Rollerblader *Adventure Seeker *Want To Be Runner*Coffee lover *Fitness Fan * Movie junkie

Posted on February 8, 2010, in Book Stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 170 Comments.

  1. I have Hotel on the Corner sitting on my bookshelf to read.

  2. I want to read the Hotel on the Corner. I look forward to your review

  3. Hope you have a good reading week, I’ve not read either of those so I’ll be looking forward to finding out more when you post your reviews.

    My post is here (the Mr. Linky isn’ working for me) http://bookreviewsbysarah.blogspot.com/2010/02/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-5.html

    I’m heading to bed now (it’s 3am in the UK!) but I’ll be back later to comment on everyone’s posts :)

  4. Yay for vacations and that they leave room for important things like reading :)

    The Hotel On The Corner Of Bitter and Sweet looks really good. I hope you’re enjoying it!

  5. Thank you for taking over this meme, Sheila, and I know you’ll do a wonderful job too. Its my favourite meme because of all the lovely links to visit and also it was the only one that the link post went up on my Monday. And hooray – this is even earlier. Thank you!

    Hotel on the Corner seems to be getting great reviews – hope you enjoy it!

  6. Reading is definitely the best part of traveling. I’ve not heard of either of the books you’re reading this week, but then again, I’ve not heard of loads of books that seem to be well known throughout the book blogging world. BUT…I’m learning. :-) Happy reading this week!

  7. I’m so glad you’ll be the host now Sheila! You’re so much fun. I know J.Kaye has been cutting back more and more and I’ll miss her, but I can see you were a fantastic choice.

    Oh it was only so long ago that we were both new, wet behind the ears bloggers, eh?

    Great reading week and enjoy your books this week!

  8. Sheila you are going to do a wonderful job with this meme, you are already such a great commenter on so many blogs. It was the first meme I ever participated in and my favourite.

    Glad you got a stack of books read on your holidays, I’ve heard lots of good things about House on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet.

    Will be back after I comment, most weeks I try and comment on at least a dozen blogs :-)

  9. You’ve got some great books to read this week!

  10. I am enjoying meeting so many great readers with varying tastes. I hit 11 tonight, but need to power down and get back to reading! It is a new day tomorrow and I will catch up.

  11. I read I, Alex Cross, Searching For Tina Turner, and soon I shall be reading Home Is Where the Wine Is. Have an enjoyable week reading, safe travels and thanks for hosting this meme.

  12. I continue to admire your posts about the things you did in Honduras. I read the Water post. Seven books in one week, what a treat. I have Hotel on the Corner on my shelves and look for to reading it too. I’ll watch for your thoughts on that and Wounded. Enjoy your trio and don’t work too hard.

  13. Thanks for taking over the meme. It is a favorite in the blog world. I read Hotel at the Corner of Bitter and Sweet last year and it was one of my favorites. I hope you enjoy it also.

    I have visited 10 blogs and left comments!

    *smiles*
    Kim

  14. Yours is the second favorable review of Searching for Tina Turner that I’ve come across tonight! It sounds great!

    A co-worker just recommended I, Alex Cross to me, but I’m hesitant because I’ve only read one? of those and I hate to read series out of order.

    I just looked at The Hotel at the Corner of Bitter and Sweet, and it’s going on my list! It sounds great! I recently read Snow Falling on Cedars and loved it, and the description of Hotel reminds me of Snow a bit.

    Thanks for taking over this meme! It looks like you’re going to do a fantastic job!

    Oh, and I commented on ten other blogs. Thanks!

    • Jennifer I would agree with you to read the Alex Cross in order. This was my first one and I probably would have understood the character more if I had followed his “career”. :)

      Good read! :)

  15. I read a favorable review of Tina Turner on another blog, I’ll have to put it on my list.
    You have the McKlinky set up right. People are just more apt to click on the logo than the “Click Here”. You can choose to have it show as a list, too, in your options when you set it up. Keep up the great work, I look forward to many Mondays with you!

    Also, I visited 10 blogs tonight and plan on more tomorrow!

    • Thanks Elizabeth – I think since I use wordpress I can not use the linky that goes on the same page – something about wordpress not supporting flash…..

      I am not sure if that changes if I went to self hosting on wordpress – but that scares me as I do not know a lot about all that inner workings of a blog :)

  16. Wow, seven books reviewed! I think I’ll go stand in the corner LOL. I think I have about the same amount of books that I ought to write a review on.

  17. My previous comment links back to the wrong blog(it links to my Norwegian one), this one links to the English blog :)

  18. Good on you for taking over this meme… I look forward to meeting many more blgogers here…

    You have to love vacations – if it does nothing else, it helps with the TBR mountains….

    Glad you enjoyed your reads…

    Have a great week this week..

    E.h>

  19. Wounded looks good! I haven’t heard of that book, but will be eager to know how you find it !

  20. Thanks for taking this over! I’m new to this meme but I have so enjoyed getting to read the other book bloggers out there and see what everyone is reading. I couldn’t get the link page to work, so here’s my link

    http://bookaddictreviews.blogspot.com/2010/01/what-are-you-reading-monday.html

    I haven’t heard of the two you are reading this week, but the Hotel and the Corner of Bitter and Sweet looks interesting-I’ll have to check it out.

    • I am so glad you are doing the meme Heather! I will look at the linky and make sure it is working right. I will put your link there if all is good. :)

      Hotel is fantastic and I am still reading it but cant imagine changing my opinion on it. I cant wait to write my review!

  21. I think I’m going to start Hotel soon, maybe next week. It’s close by. I would love to read Claudia Mair Burney’s book and Searching For Tina Turner.

  22. Thanks for becoming the new host of this fantastic meme. I have so far managed to comment on 30 blogs and will probably do a few more tomorrow. I tried to do them all one week when it was on J. Kaye’s Book Blog but it took hours and I had to give up. Tonight I did it whilst watching some of my favourite TV shows.

    Well have a grea reading week!

    • LOL Alaine – I think there was a couple times I made it through the whole list at J Kayes. I am going to try to do it today :)

    • I think it’s a little more difficult because we are in Australia and your meme goes live late into our Monday. I managed to comment on everyone who had joined but by that time there were only 35 and it was 11.30pm here. Because I can’t get to them all I sometimes start at the beginning of the list and then sometimes I start at the end. Well might go and see if I can get a few more in. Have a great day/night!

      • Thanks Alaine you too. You must have a huge time difference – I posted this our time at 9 pm on Sunday evening. No worries – you can comment all week long. Its not limited to today – just to the Monday What Are You Reading Post.

        You have a wonderful day/night too!

  23. Alright, I’m back.. I commented on 20!!! I’ll try for more when I get home tonight.. if I have energy. :)

  24. I hope you had a wonderful holiday :) Wow, 7 books!!!

    Mel

  25. Thank you for hosting !!!!
    Big James Patterson fan here….can’t wait to read your review.
    I think I commented on 10 sites but had some puter glitches so not sure if comments accepted. My Monday list is here

  26. I’ve been wanting to read Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet! I hope you like it, can’t wait for the review :)

  27. I heard a lot of good things about Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet, and ended up buying it for my mom as one of her Christmas gifts. I may have to borrow it from her.

  28. Congrats on taking over this meme! I read Hotel On The Corner… last year and really liked it. I hope you do too.

  29. Hi, I love your blog and all the info I can find through this meme! Thanks for hosting it!
    Did you know you can use another FREE linking tool that displays all the links inside your post and even supports thumbnails? http://www.inlinkz.com
    Maybe you should give it a try! It’s easy to use, stable and highly customizable. Hope that helps!

  30. Looks like you have some good ones ahead of you; I read Hotel in January and really enjoyed it; I’m almost done with Wounded, really looking forward to the discussion.

  31. Here’s my post for the week:

    http://memybookandthecouch.blogspot.com/2010/02/its-monday-what-are-you-reading_08.html

    I, Alex Cross is good! It reminded me of books written earlier in the series. Alex Cross is my favorite series!

    I’ve commented on 3 blogs so far. I’ll comment more later this afternoon. I’m headed back outside to continue digging out from our weekend blizzard!

  32. Okay, Sheila, so far I’ve visited eleven blogs, and I’ll do more…but thought I needed to come up for air (LOL)!

    I keep forgetting about your time difference, and how all of you back there are two or three hours ahead of me. So many comments by the time I’m just waking up!

    Loving your meme logo, too!

    Your books look fabulous as well!

    Mine are here:

    http://laurel-rain-snow.blogspot.com/2010/02/its-monday-what-are-you-reading_08.html

  33. “The Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet” is wonderful!

    Here’s my books:
    http://www.bibliobabe.com/?p=409

    Happy reading!

  34. Thank you for hosting this meme, Sheila =) I visited about 20 blogs this morning – some great reading lists out there!

  35. Congratulations on taking over the Monday meme – it’s one of my favorites!

    I’ve heard great things about The corner of Bitter and Sweet – can’t wait to hear what you think. Enjoy the rest of your vacation –

    Sue

  36. Wait, you read *and* reviewed all of those? I wish I that one top of things!!!

  37. Looks like it was a good reading and reviewing week for you! I read 3 of your reviews and will try to check the others later!
    Its a good challenge to visit 10 other links! I’ll try!
    Have a great week!

    • Thanks MarthaE it was a good reading week. When I would ride with Al to the auction is is over an hour each way so I would read while he drove. If I stayed at my cousins instead of going to the auction I had the day all to myself to read. :)

  38. Here I am again, Sheila, having just clicked on twenty-one links.

    This is fun!

    I’ll be back, but now I have to take a shower!

  39. Hi there!

    Thank you for continuing to host this great event from J.Kaye =) This is my first visit to your site and I am thrilled. I’d just posted my Monday Event and am looking forward to visit the other site that had participate in this event.

    See ya around.

  40. Wow, you’re on the move a lot. I bet Hotel is really good. I’m reading The Glass Room.

  41. Sheila, thanks for hosting this event for everyone now! I love it!
    I’m loving everyone’s posts so far! I’ve checked out 10-15 and will try to check back later for more. :)

    ~Amanda Leigh
    Not-Really-Southern Vamp Chick

  42. Thanks for taking this over. I know I visited at least 10 of the sites above but life keeps getting in the way. This is a great idea but now I have 11 NEW books to add to my want to read list. lol

    LOVE YOU BLOG TOO!!

  43. Congrats on the succession! I know you’ll do a great job :-)

    I posted thru Mr Linky.

  44. I would kill for a week of vacation!

  45. Hotel On The Corner of Bitter & Sweet sounds like such a great book! :]

  46. (newbie here)

    I’m so glad I came across your meme! I’m going to have to add a few of these books to my TBR mountain. :)

  47. Thank you for taking this weekly event over.

    Loved Hotel and can’t wait to read Beguiled.

    Visited 20+ today.

  48. Congrats and thank you for taking over this meme. It has really helped me to keep in order what I am reading (as sometimes I am reading too many, that if I put a book down in the wrong place it get’s forgotten!)

  49. Thanks for taking over the meme. You have several books I’m adding to my TBR pile: Searching for Tina Turner (even with the *barf* character) and Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet.

    I posted on Mr. Linky and responded to 10 other bloggers. Happy week!

    Cathy @ Minding the Middle

  50. I love the Alex Cross series – but I haven’t managed to gat around to I, Alex Cross yet – I’m still trying to work my way through the rest of the series!

    I have left comments on 20 other blogs. Thanks for taking over this meme – it’s one of my favourites!

  51. I’ve heard really wonderful things about Hotel … I think I may have my book group try it. We’re always looking for new things.

    oh yes! I did make a comment on 10 blogs, and also, I appreciate your comment on mine (even though you missed the launch!)

    • nancyo that is what I am doing – we are reviewing it tomorrow night. I think it will be a wonderful discussion book.

      LOl – thats ok if I missed the Launch – it was fun to visit you! :)

  52. I am very much looking forward to seeing what you have to say about Wounded. That is a book that I am going to read for a book club next month!

    Thanks for the review on I, Alex Cross. I bought it just haven’t been able to read it yet.

  53. Thanks for taking over this weekly meme. I really enjoy this one.

    Your link to Dream House looks so good that I added it my wish list. I love the cover.

  54. Congrats on being the new hostess. I don’t actually participate in this meme but I can already see you have tons of participation and you’re caught up on comments! Congrats!

    And I’m just a little jealous of the number of reviews you got done … even on vacation I wouldn’t get that many written! : )

  55. I have been feeling miserable for a quite a while, so I am currently reading this book…..

  56. thanks for taking over this meme sheila! it’s one of my favorites. i haven’t read any of the books you listed but i love the covers on them especially hotel. happy reading this week! :)

  57. I had no idea you were hosting this event now! Congrats and thank you for hosting! I haven’t heard of the books you’ve chosen before, thanks for sharing!

  58. OMG, there’s a lot of links here. I lurked through 10 of them. It’s fun to see what everyone is reading and get some ideas for future reads.

  59. Hi Sheila, I’ve commented on 35 blogs so far, *phew* . I don’t know how J.Kaye and now you, do it. What a massive undertaking LOL. I will try and do a few more during the week :-)

  60. I’ve always wanted to read the Alex Cross books! But there’s also just so much else to read. :)

  61. WOW! Lots of comments here. I am currently working on Hell’s Belles by Jackie Kessler. I should be done with it today and I think I may be starting into Demon Bound by Caitlin Kittredge, unless I get an arc in the mail today I am to review.

    Have a great week!

  62. You are going to be busy reading all these blogs…

    Here is my It’s Monday, What are you Reading?

    http://celticladysramblings.blogspot.com/2010/02/its-monday-what-are-you-reading.html

  63. Whew – I managed 30 visits.

  64. Thanks for stopping by my blog, I have just recently started reading Georgette Heyer, only the mysteries so far. I love the size of them and the covers are beautiful and the stories are pretty good little mysteries.

  65. Thank you for taking over “It’s Monday” it’s great fun to be a part of.
    I commented on 10 blogs and became a follower to quite a few! LOL!
    Also thank you for visiting my site!

  66. I am impressed 136 comments-I have left comments on 30 blogs-it is my little pleasure with all the work.

  67. Wow. There are so many particpants who have commented on more than 10 blogs. I think that is fantastic!!
    Sadly, I have only made my way over to 10 plus a bit more blogs. I am having a really hard time lately keeping up with daily life, blogging, reading and commenting. Sooo…my commenting has fallen off a bit. With that said, this has been a good week for me in re:to commenting.

    Sheila, I think you are going to do a fabulous job hosting this meme! I love this meme and look forward to link up here week after week.

    Saw your list of books that you brought with you for the weekend. Fabulous list. Look forward to reading what you thought of those read.

    Have a fabulous fun and joyous weekend.

    • Thanks ibeeeg! :) I have felt like that over the past week that I have not been able to visit other blogs like I enjoy. I am back home now so that will free me up a bit :)

      Sometimes we just have to step back and that is ok too! :)

      Cool about the 10 blog visits and comments – I am sure they appreciate it!

  68. Hi Sheila! I visited about 60 blogs and left comments this morning (wow, there are some great reads out there).

    Thank you so much again for hosting this meme! You do such a wonderful job! I always bulk up my reader with several more entries on Mondays.. pretty soon.. well I might need an intervention!

    • Lydia I would be part of your support group but I would be no help at all as I am just as bad! LOL… I keep a pen and paper next to my while checking out the posts so I can jot down book titles of interest to me… ;)

  69. Here’s my books!
    http://www.bibliobabe.com/

    Happy reading everyone!

  70. i forgot to link it to the mclinky..mine is here;

    http://darlynandbooks.blogspot.com/2010/02/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-5.html

    p/s:wow..a book for a day..it’s a wow, sheila =p

  71. I would love to read Tainted. I want to read The Hotel…. soon too. Would love to read your reviews about both books. I keep missing you for some reason. I haven’t been doing mimes for awhile. I miss it.

  72. I’m currently reading Bel Canto by Ann Patchett. Read The Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet a few months ago and loved it! It was wonderful. I highly recommend it.

  73. I finished Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel last week, and should finish My Name is Mary Sutter by Robin Oliveria today. Still not sure how I feel about the latter yet.
    Plan on starting both Lizzie Bright & the Buckminister Boy by Gary Schmidt, and Embers by Sandor Marai this week. The 1st is Juv Fic, the latter was recommended to me by a friend that said I could finish it in a day.

  74. Excellent article. Keep writing such kind of info on your page.
    Im really impressed by your site.
    Hello there, You’ve performed an excellent job. I will definitely digg it and in my view recommend to my friends. I am confident they will be benefited from this website.

  75. Excellent website you have here but I was wanting to know if you knew of any discussion boards that cover the same topics discussed in this article?

    I’d really love to be a part of community where I can get responses from other experienced people that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Thanks a lot!

  76. If you wish for to take much from this paragraph then you have to apply such techniques to your
    won web site.

  77. My brother recommended I would possibly like this website.

    He was once entirely right. This put up actually made my day.

    You cann’t believe just how a lot time I had spent for this information! Thank you!

  78. For many asthma and allergy reactions. Airplane travels
    are generally tedious for some rapid changes in routes as this specially
    operates in this province.

  79. My spouse and I stumbled over here from a different web page and thought I might check things
    out. I like what I see so i am just following you.

    Look forward to looking over your web page again.

  80. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s equally educative and entertaining, and without
    a doubt, you have hit the nail on the head. The issue is an issue that not
    enough folks are speaking intelligently about. I am very happy I
    came across this during my search for something regarding this.

  81. Hi there! This post couldn’t be written much better!
    Looking through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!

    He constantly kept talking about this. I am going to forward
    this post to him. Pretty sure he’s going to have a very good read.
    Thanks for sharing!

  82. excellent issues altogether, you simply gained a emblem new reader.

    What might you recommend about your post that you just made
    a few days ago? Any positive?

  83. I’m excited to discover this website. I wanted to thank you for your time for this particularly wonderful read!!
    I definitely loved every part of it and i also have you book-marked to see
    new things on your blog.

  84. I do not know if it’s just me or if everyone else experiencing issues with your website.
    It appears as though some of the text in your
    posts are running off the screen. Can somebody else please comment and let me
    know if this is happening to them too? This may be a problem with my internet
    browser because I’ve had this happen before. Many thanks

  85. Excellent goods from you, man. I have have in mind your stuff
    previous to and you’re just too wonderful. I really like what you have got here, certainly like what you are
    saying and the way in which during which you assert it. You are
    making it entertaining and you continue to care for to stay
    it sensible. I cant wait to read far more from you.
    This is really a wonderful site.

  86. Pretty part of content. I just stumbled upon your
    site and in accession capital to claim that I get in fact loved account your blog posts.
    Anyway I will be subscribing to your feeds or even I fulfillment you get right of entry to consistently fast.

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday, What are You Reading? – (Feb. 22nd) « Bibliobabe

  2. Pingback: It’s Monday, What are You Reading? (March 1st, 2010) «

  3. Pingback: It’s Monday, What are You Reading? March 8th, 2010 « Bibliobabe

  4. Pingback: It’s Monday, What are You Reading? March 15th, 2010 « Bibliobabe

  5. Pingback: It’s Monday, What are You Reading? March 22nd, 2010 « Bibliobabe

  6. Pingback: It’s Monday, What are You Reading? – April 26th, 2010 « Bibliobabe

  7. Pingback: Google

Hmmmm... what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,529 other followers