Bloggiesta! 2nd Addition Starting Line

It has begun!  Today through Sunday I will be in Bloggiesta mode.  What exactly is Bloggiesta?  Well it is a time to take a closer look at our blogs and do some…. well, let me let Pedro the mascot, explain it.  Pedro?

Plan.  Edit.  Develop.  Review.  Organize.

That’s it.  Through mini challenges this is a time to plan out 2010 and get a little organized.  I want to share with you a few highlights from the first Bloggiesta event:

I had just started seriously book blogging about two weeks prior to this event.  Somehow I heard about the Bloggiesta and thought it would be a great way to perhaps (maybe) learn more about blogging, reviewing, etc….  I created a “to do” list and I participated in everything I could.  I learned so much through that event that my blog came out the other side looking sharper, more effective, and I had a new confidence of how I was going to go forward.  That was over 6 months ago and I cant even believe how much I am enjoying connecting with others through this Blog.  And now thanks to all those who helped me, I am able to help others.  :)

Here is my weekend to do list:  (I will probably add to this as I go)

  • Catch up on writing all the reviews for the books I have completed
  • Have back up posts ready to go
  • Send out invites for authors chats with a few authors
  • Clean up my Wish List link
  • Organize all my pages
  • Create a new Blog Badge
  • Love a bit on my blog roll…. it needs a facelift!
  • Love a little bit on my blog
  • Clean up my book related emails
  • Get out and visit other blogs!  Life has been so busy lately I have not had a lot of time to do this part of blogging which I love! (and still going!)
  • Post the awards that I was planning to do at the end of December
  • Revisit last Bloggiesta’s mini challenges to see if there is anything I may have missed
  • Take a look at My Review Policy (written during the last Bloggiesta) is it still current?
  • Catch up on the giveaways that I still need to post
  • Stop in and see and comment on every participants blog (currently working on)

Here are the links to the wonderful mini challenges which I hope to participate in every one of them!

If you have time – I would suggest you go and sign up over at Maw Books and join an event that may very well make a positive difference in your blogging experience!

I will be keeping track of the invested Bloggiesta hours here:  as of 1/10/2010 10:07  a.m.   17 hours

Party Time!

Here is my starting line post from the last Bloggiesta.   And here is my finish line post from last time.

About Sheila (Book Journey)

Bookaholic * Audio Book Fan *Bike Rider *Rollerblader *Adventure Seeker *Want To Be Runner*Coffee lover *Fitness Fan * Movie junkie

Posted on January 8, 2010, in Book Stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 47 Comments.

  1. Wow! What an impressive list! I haven’t put my list in my starting post yet, but I have the Maw’s list printed out, highlighting the things I’d like to do.

    So I guess I’d better get busy “listing” them in a post. I’ve been over to check out some mini-challenges and I’m learning stuff! It’s great!

    Thanks for reminding us of this event.

    I’ve linked to my newest blog, which I figured could use some work! It’s http://laurelrainsnowswonderland.wordpress.com

  2. Wow you will be busy!!

  3. I won’t be participating since this will be my son’s last weekend home before he goes back to school. Good luck with all of your goals!

  4. Good luck with Bloggiesta! I’ve been trying to chip away at some of the maintenance tasks on my blog the past few weeks, but I won’t be able to participate in this because I have other things I have to do this weekend.

  5. I can’t wait to get home from work and get started! I thought I knew what I wanted to do but looking at the mini-challenges, there’s so much more I need to add to the to-do list!

    • I have only been to one mini challenenge so far Lisa. I had projects to complete up town and now am back home. I have a book review to post and then hopefully I can do some challenges! :)

  6. Good luck with your list! I won’t be doing it this time, to much going on plus I have a migraine :(
    I’ll be checking back to see your progress!

  7. I swear Sheila! Every blog that I go to for Bloggiesta, you’ve already been there. What a great cheerleader!! I hope you manage to cross some things off of your own list. Kudos!

  8. LOL Natasha! The last time you did Bloggiesta that was how I met so many great bloggers! I visited all the participants and that was one of the things on my list for this time too. I love to look at all the blog layouts! :)

  9. Good luck with meeting all of your goals! I like your idea of visiting all of the other Bloggieta participants, and will try to do that as well. Have fun!

  10. Wow, you’ve done so well on Bloggiesta in the past and right now! I think you’ll do fabulously :-)

  11. Wow! That is a great list of goals. I am going to have to edit my list and add to it. I have discovered new goals since reading some of the mini challenges.

  12. Your blog already looks so great, but you’re so talented I’m sure you’ll make it even better! Good luck!

  13. I’m learning a ton of things just by checkign out your blog!

    You have a great list, have fun this weekend!

  14. Thanks for the cheer. I’ve put in 7.5 hours today, but no mini challenges. There’s always tomorrow :)

  15. Hey Sheila -
    Very organized and thoughtful post – I like it. I like the starting line and finishing line post concept. I think that is how I will label my posts next time.

    You know I am thinking word press may be my next move.

    I just got your comment on my blog and moderated it and it will not show in the comment section…Just curious did you delete it or anything unusual?

    Thanks a bunch for your response. You can reach me at my email and I will also sign up for follow up comments on this post. :)

  16. Sheila-I have you to thank for taking notes. I purchased that book I Read, I Recommend. I Remember-to help me with this.

  17. Hi Sheila, thanks for the comment. Good luck with your list – and have fun! I didn’t have time to do much yesterday but am hoping to get a lot done today and tomorrow.

  18. I enjoy making lists, so I feel right at home here.
    Good luck on completing your challenges.
    Blessings

  19. You’ve done a lot! Good for you. And you’ve been commenting too-I appreciate the visit. Your blog looks good with all those boxes in the sidebar-mine are just floating there. I’m jealous that you know how to do things like create a Blog Badge. I never even thought of doing that. Keep up the good work.

  20. You have really been working hard here! Your blog looks nice with the new set up. It does feel great when you get so much done. Great job!

  21. Thanks for visiting my blog!!! WOW…you have accomplished a lot. Things look great over hear…now off to read more of your posts!!!

  22. Wow!! I’m impressed with all that you have accomplished!! You are completely rocking this fiesta!! Great job!!

  23. There are few things as satifying as having a list and being able to cross off finished items. Don’t have a blog, but there are some good ideas there for all of us.

  24. You did great on your list! Congrats!!

  1. Pingback: Morning Meanderings « One Persons Journey through a world of Books

  2. Pingback: Its Monday, What Are You Reading? « One Persons Journey through a world of Books

Hmmmm... what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,541 other followers