Its Monday – What are you Reading?

Well… this morning I am still on Alvor…. loving it but with busy commitments I just havent had the time to really sit Monday what are you readingdown and read it through…. hopefully today is the day and I have a bit of time blocked off this afternoon for just this book!

I have a few others waiting for me that I can not wait to dig into!  The Sign For Drowning is one I have been looking forward to…

When she was a child, Anna stood at the water’s edge beside her mother, both of them helplessly frozen as they watched an ocean wave capsize the boat carrying Anna’s younger sister, Megan. In that singular, life-changing instant, Anna envisioned Megan fighting off “monsoon rains with every turn of her neck. Earthquakes broke fault lines with each kick of her leg. Every thrashing of her arms brought forest fires somewhere. Opening her mouth caused volcanoes to erupt. In this way, she left us.”

Sounds great huh?

When The Sun Goes Down came in quite a while ago and I really need to get this one read.  This book is a bit different and is actually about planning your funeral – and no, I am not in a  hurry that I know of -LOL.  I believe I have many good years left.  I think I chose this in my early book blog days when I was still at that “let me review all books!” stage!  Well -we will see… it may surprise me.

Stray Affections is on for a blog tour next week that I would love to get read this week.

The last thing that Cassand002ra Higgins expects out of her Sunday is to be mesmerized at a collectors convention by a snowglobe. Shes enjoying some mommy time, with husband Ken at home tending their brood of four young boys, when shes utterly charmed by the one-of-a kind globe containing figures of three dogs and a little girl with hair the color of her own. She cant resist taking the unique globe home even if means wrestling another shopper for it!

We (Al and I) are on track this weekend to head to our cabin up North and I will be taking Bran Hambric with me for the drive.  I have no internet reception there and a weekend “unplugged” means more reading time! :)


It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?  (This meme comes from J Kayes Blog - be sure to pop over and see what she is reading as well as what many others are reading this week.  You can add your list to her Mr Linky!)

About Sheila (Book Journey)

Bookaholic * Audio Book Fan *Bike Rider *Rollerblader *Adventure Seeker *Want To Be Runner*Coffee lover *Fitness Fan * Movie junkie

Posted on August 31, 2009, in Book Stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. These sound interesting, especially the Stray Affections!
    Happy Monday, my friend!

    Sharon

  2. Hi Sheila! Today I’m reading “Moon Music,” by Faye Kellerman, a book that isn’t NEW, but one of hers that I had somehow missed. I found it on the exchange book shelf at the resort where I was staying in Napa—when I had finished the three books I brought and was flailing about, wondering “Now what??”

    I’m almost finished and will review it soon.

    Happy Monday!!

    • Moon Music? Have not read so I will watch for your review. I was at a resprt that had the book exchange once…that is a pretty cool thing to offer. You should have left one of your books there signed by you that said, “Happy Traveling!”

  3. I’ll have to check back for your Bran Hambric review.

  4. The sign for Drowning sounds wonderful! Happy reading. My list is here:http://rundpinne.blogspot.com/2009/08/what-are-you-reading-monday_31.html

  5. The Sign for Drowning is one that I’ve had on my wish list. I’m glad you enjoyed it :)

  6. I love your dedication to books. I remember catching your comment on the Scribbit website and you said just that! I currently finished The help and the Glass Castle and am starting in on The Graveyard and Speak. Take care and thanks for your comment!

  7. I haven’t heard of those titles but they sound intriguing. :-)

  8. Stray Affections sounds good. I love snow globes! I may have to add this one to my TBR List. Have a good week!

  9. Sorry that I am so late in arriving…busy, insane day! I love the photo of your stack. I don’t know what that is, but I get so excited…lol!

  10. These books look good. What is Alvor about? That book cover looks good. I know, don’t judge a book by its cover, but it does look good.

    I have finished The Crown Conspiracy in 2 days last week, so this week I am back to the Name of the Wind with the bookclub.

  11. justicejenniferreads

    Looks like you’re reading a lot of awesome books. Some time away, with no internet, sounds wonderful. I could use a vacation like that!

  12. The Sign for Drowning sounds fantastic, I want it just based on the book blurb, can’t wait to see your review for that one. Have a lovely time at your cabin and happy reading :-)

  13. The Sign For Drowning sounds pretty good. Have a great week and Happy Reading

  14. Have a great reading week! :D

  15. Very exciting to see my new book, Stray Affections, in your stack! Thank you for a lovely picture.

  16. I’m slowly getting through Orlando and taking little peaks into a new book I found called The Red Haired Girl From the Bog. It’s about a woman’s spiritual traveling Ireland.

Hmmmm... what do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,529 other followers